PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

World Cup of Poker IX **OFFICIAL DISCUSSION**

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • World Cup of Poker IX **OFFICIAL DISCUSSION**


    World Cup of Poker IX

    Represent Your Country in Poker’s World Cup!

    The World Cup of Poker (WCP) is the event where you get to represent your homeland in one of the biggest events anywhere online. What’s more, countries that advance from the group stages get to go to the live final - held as part of the 2013 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure (PCA) in The Bahamas. It’s about bragging rights, national pride, and proving that you are the best - and you can take part now.


    How to Qualify for WCP IX

    Stage 1: Team Selection

    The action starts online, where 72 national teams will battle for the chance to make it to the PCA. Countries have been split into eight regional groups, with nine countries in each one.

    Play for your country in any of the four $2.20 heads-up No Limit Hold’em Super Knockout tournaments and aim to finish as high as possible each time. Your country’s score for each tourney will be the highest individual cash by any player from that nation. After all tourneys have played out, each country will be ranked in their group based on their combined best finishes across the four tourneys. The country that tops their group will advance to the live final in The Bahamas! It’s a format that will favor the country that enters the most players, so be sure to tell as many of your countrymen as possible!

    See the WCP Qualifiers page for times
    and dates for your national team.


    Stage 2: Player Selection

    With eight national teams now though to the live final, it’s time to decide which four players get to represent them. This will be decided via free-to-play and cash qualifiers taking place on August 26 - see the Qualifiers page for times and buy-ins.

    Each four-man team will then head off to the PCA in January 2013 to play the live final. Each team will also be assigned a pro player as their Captain, including members of Team PokerStars Pro and Team Online.

    Full details of the live final at the 2013 PCA will be announced shortly - check back soon for more.

    Contact support@pokerstars.com if you have any questions about the World Cup of Poker and how to qualify for your country.


    Thank you for being a member of www.pokerschoolonline.com and best of luck to you at the tables.

    Quintuple Bracelet Winner


  • #2
    Hey, everybody ... just in case this got buried under stuff, and people hadn't noticed the dates for this thing, it starts today, and runs this weekend and next, with the 4 satties for each country running at the same time. Was gonna list the times for every country, but I did 3 groups and got a little wiped out by the time I reached Russia ... gosh that's a big country! May do a bit more after breakie! Group 5 starts in a couple of minutes umbup: Group 7 Taiwan - 10pm CST Afghanistan - 2pm AFT Uzbekistan - 3pm UZT, 4pm ALMT Philippines - 6pm PHT Japan - 7pm JST Georgia – 2pm GET South Korea – 7pm KST Lebanon – 1pm EEST New Zealand - 10am CST Group 8 Australia – 9pm EST, 8:30 CST, 7 WST Kazakhstan – 5pm ALMT China – 7pm CST Indonesia – 6pm WIB Vietnam – 6pm ICT Singapore – 7pm SGT India – 4:30pm IST Malaysia – 7pm MYT Rest of the World - Group 5 Russian Federation – 2am ANAT, 1pm VLAT, 12pm YAKT, 11pm IRKT, 10pm KRAT, 9pm NOVT, 8pm YEKT, 6pm MSK Portugal – 3pm WEST Lithuania – 5pm EEST Austria – 4pm CEST Norway – 4pm CEST Israel – 5pm IDT Ireland – 3pm IST Armenia – 6pm AMT Bosnia and Herzegovina – 4pm CEST I guess the more participants each country has, the better the chances of people having a chance to make it to the live championships? And in the past, people from PSO have gone to similar tourneys - EasyChips and Damon ... and I think they won a free trip, and then prize money and a cup for winning? And even if we don't feel ready for that kind of thing, it's still kind of fun to play for our country, eh? Always GL everybody!

    Comment


    • #3
      Cheers Trusty! Raiser umbup:
      Moderator

      Bracelet Winner


      Comment


      • #4
        Hey, GL Ireland!! umbup: Oh yeah, forgot to mention, these preliminary rounds can be found in 'Tourney' > 'Regional'. Although I only see my Group (Group 1) ... does everybody else only see their group too? And they're $2.20 heads-up knockouts with a bounty (no late registration) - not sure if they're regular speed or turbo. Here's 3 more groups: Group 4 United Kingdom – 4pm BST Ukraine – 6pm EEST Bulgaria – 6pm EEST Denmark – 5pm CEST Hungary – 5pm CEST Finland – 6pm EEST Estonia – 6pm EEST Croatia – 5pm CEST FYROM – 5pm CEST Group 6 Netherlands – 6pm CEST Romania – 7pm EEST Sweden – 6pm CEST Czech Republic – 6pm CEST Latvia – 7pm EEST Serbia – 6pm CEST Turkey – 7pm EEST Cyprus – 7pm EEST Belgium – 6pm CEST Group 3 Germany – 7pm CEST Belarus – 8pm FET Poland – 7pm CEST Greece – 8pm EEST Switzerland – 7pm CEST Slovenia – 7pm CEST Slovakia – 7pm CEST Moldova – 8pm EEST Albania – 7pm CEST Sam

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Deleted user
          Hi, trusty sam, Do I find the world cup events under special in the tourney lobby? Is my ip enough to enter me into the event for my country? Is there any entry free with these 4 sattelites? Is there only the 4 sattalites to enter in or some other buy in types you can enter? What is the qualification of these sat's? ( I will see at lobby also. ) Am I right in recalling that the buyins to the final stage in qualification tournaments were steep, between $125and $700?
          Hey Jigjig ... I'm kind of into maps right now, eh? So I just thought I'd list the times for all the countries in case people forgot about this thing. So I wouldn't feel comfortable answering your questions - but I skimmed over the FAQ page and it seems to answer most of your questions. I could spoon-feed you the answers, but I feel like it might give you a nice little sense of accomplishment to go seek out and find the info your looking on your own! umbup:

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by TrustySam View Post
            Hey Jigjig ... I'm kind of into maps right now, eh? So I just thought I'd list the times for all the countries in case people forgot about this thing. So I wouldn't feel comfortable answering your questions - but I skimmed over the FAQ page and it seems to answer most of your questions. I could spoon-feed you the answers, but I feel like it might give you a nice little sense of accomplishment to go seek out and find the info your looking on your own! umbup:
            +100000

            Comment


            • #7
              No Rest of the World

              Comment


              • #8
                I couldn't think of what to put there ... my mind drew a blank - so that's what showed up in the space lol Now I know what to put! umbup: Group 8 Kuwait – 2pm AST Also, here's the last 2 groups - I didn't realize when we have daylight savings time in Toronto, we're no longer considered EST ... it's called EDT. Did everybody know that except me? Did we all know that? umbup: Group 1 Argentina – 8pm ART Canada – 8:30pm NDT, 8pm ADT, 7pm EDT, 6pm CDT, 5pm MDT, 4pm PDT Honduras – 5pm CST Dominican Republic – 7pm AST Guatemala – 5pm CST Ecuador – 6pm ECT Costa Rica – 5pm CST Chile – 7pm CLT Peru – 6pm PET Group 2 Brazil – 9pm BRT Mexico – 7pm CDT Venezuela – 8pm VET Uruguay – 9pm UYT Bolivia – 8pm BOT Paraguay – 8pm PYT El Salvador – 6pm CST Panama – 7pm EST Colombia – 7pm COT Also, the Support Your Country Closing Freeroll [$50,000] is tomorrow ... I had a pickle of a time trying to find it under 'Tourney' > 'Special', so people may need to search for it or something if you have a hard time finding it too or something ... GL to everybody who plays it tomorrow! umbup:

                Comment


                • #9
                  Hey Sam. Perhaps you should apply to PokerStars for a job and get paid for your promotional work. Thanks for the reminders.

                  Good luck
                  Doug
                  3 Time Bracelet Winner


                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Well first off, thank you for switching your first reply

                    I'll admit that part of my answer was a bit flip - because I felt like that page did answer most of your questions, and so if I could find the answers, then why couldn't you? But I didn't intend it in a malicious way ... it was just more out of bewilderment and frustration.

                    Like for the most part, I was sincerely trying to be supportive. Like, sometimes I get the feeling like you feel you don't have as much control over your enviroment as you would like, like maybe you don't always feel like you can trust the powers that be? Or maybe other times you maybe have an ideal in your mind of how you would wish to see things, and maybe life sometimes feels like it falls short? So I did honestly feel like the answers in the FAQ section might help allay your concerns about potential hidden costs. And I felt like by looking for the answers on your own, maybe you'd feel like you have the means and ability to find the reassurances you crave, and might then feel more in control of your environment and stuff?

                    Like poker is fun for me - I like poker, I like maps, cats, etc ... nothing too complicated. So I would wish for that for you too ... that you would feel some level of enjoyment more than frustration in playing poker and in participating in some of this PSO stuff

                    Like I guess part of me does tend prefer to be supportive rather than be at odds with people ... I guess because I'm a girl, I don't know ...
                    Last edited by TrustySam; Sat Aug 11, 2012, 11:02 PM.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by bearxing View Post
                      Hey Sam. Perhaps you should apply to PokerStars for a job and get paid for your promotional work. Thanks for the reminders.

                      Good luck
                      Doug
                      Yeah, jigjig was right in his previous post - I don't have an angle ... I'm just enthusiastic ...

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        as usual Sam, great job

                        lost my first match 3 more tries to go

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Hey, thx Marvin!! GL Philippines!! umbup: Ya, 3 more to go I forgot how tilting heads up makes me - yikes!! But good practice and stuff umbup:

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            When I clicked on a link to see if a leaderboard was up or anything, another link to the PokerStarsBlog page came up with a summary of last year's tournament. Looks like it'll be so much fun for whoever gets to go represent their country! It's like a decathalon of poker, in that the teams have to play MTTs, SNGs, heads up, full ring and 6-max. And apparently they got a PS Team coach to help guide them umbup: http://www.pokerstarsblog.com/wcop/2...ke-090112.html I guess these were the teams that got to go to the finals? And the results: World Champions: Peru (267 points), $90,000 Runner-up. Netherlands (251 points), $65,000 3rd. Japan (247 points), $45,000 4th. Germany (244 points), $30,000 5th. Tajikistan (225 points), $20,000 6th. Rest of the World, (199 points*), $15,000 7th. Costa Rica (199 points*), $10,000 8th. France (192 points), $7,500 9th: Italy, (eliminated Day 1) $5,000 Sounds pretty fun for whoever gets to go!!

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              I've got so much stuff on my plate poker-wise, just trying to learn how to plan a hand, and range better and stuff like that ... watching Chewme and Felix videos, that I've never gotten around to watching any of the heads up ones. I'll bet they must help a lot, eh? This hand to me kind of represents what it is about heads up that I find so awkward ... lol at the ending: One of these days I'll have to find the time to check out the heads up videos to find out what we're supposed to do when we find ourselves in these kinds of situations umbup:

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X

                              X Cookies Information

                              We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.