PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice on heads up play please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on heads up play please

Hi Folks:

Thanks in advance for any thoughts you may have regarding the following hand:

(Please note: I am new to poker and the PSO, having started both about 2+ months ago. This hand was played against one of the best players here. I didn't know I should post his/her name so I changed it.)

__________________________________________________ _______
    Omaha HiLo $20 multi 48 to start, down to final 2.
    Blinds are 2K/4K

opponent starts with $29,307
    samsterism starts with $18,693
    opponent has the dealer button

>>>DEALING HOLE CARDS<<<

samsterism dealt down 5s 5c Js Jc

(we both raise and re-raise 'till I'm all in)

opponent shows cards 7c 5d As 3h

>>>DEALING FLOP<<< [ 8h Qc Ah ]
    >>>DEALING TURN<<< [ 8d ]
    >>>DEALING RIVER<<< [ 6d ]

opponent won high with two pair, aces over eights
    opponent won low with eight low

samsterism finishes in 2nd place
    opponent finishes in 1st place
    __________________________________________________ _______

I have been playing mostly Hold'em so Omaha is still a bit of a mystery for me (but then so is hold'em). I keep misreading my hands (can't use 3 from the hole Sam! ) Anyway, when I saw this hand I thought something like "wow, this is great because I have a great chance at trips!" So as you can see I bet it all and lost. Now I'm thinking that may have been a mistake because I only had 4 cards to make my trips, an 10-1 against (approx). The odds and everything is new to me so I still miss quite a bit that may be obvious to most.