PokerStars homepage
;
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So where is the Skill

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • So where is the Skill

    I thought the prem was gonna be a better standard of poker
    The odd mind games
    Raise vs raise
    Bit of chat , talk a guy off a hand lol
    How sadly mistaken I was
    So next time your sat at the table and see that name
    You know what to expect

    PokerStars Game #66462562956: Tournament #422952762, Freeroll Hold'em No Limit - Level VIII (125/250) - 2011/08/24 8:16:33 WET [2011/08/24 3:16:33 ET]
    Table '422952762 9' 9-max Seat #1 is the button
    Seat 1: rauhespiele (2210 in chips)
    Seat 2: ROCKERS888 (1430 in chips)
    Seat 3: spike8998 (1395 in chips)
    Seat 4: ceaserea (1230 in chips)
    Seat 5: BARRYDOGG378 (7040 in chips)
    Seat 6: buxiboy (3950 in chips)
    Seat 7: V.H. MAXX (1450 in chips)
    Seat 8: xxAPCxx (3146 in chips)
    Seat 9: windhaha2012 (1203 in chips)
    rauhespiele: posts the ante 25
    ROCKERS888: posts the ante 25
    spike8998: posts the ante 25
    ceaserea: posts the ante 25
    BARRYDOGG378: posts the ante 25
    buxiboy: posts the ante 25
    V.H. MAXX: posts the ante 25
    xxAPCxx: posts the ante 25
    windhaha2012: posts the ante 25
    ROCKERS888: posts small blind 125
    spike8998: posts big blind 250
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to spike8998 [Ks Ah]
    ceaserea: folds
    BARRYDOGG378: folds
    buxiboy: folds
    V.H. MAXX: folds
    xxAPCxx: folds
    windhaha2012: folds
    rauhespiele: folds
    ROCKERS888: raises 1155 to 1405 and is all-in
    spike8998: calls 1120 and is all-in
    Uncalled bet (35) returned to ROCKERS888
    *** FLOP *** [As 3d 6s]
    *** TURN *** [As 3d 6s] [4c]
    *** RIVER *** [As 3d 6s 4c] [4h]
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    ROCKERS888: shows [Kc 4d] (three of a kind, Fours)
    spike8998: shows [Ks Ah] (two pair, Aces and Fours)
    ROCKERS888 collected 2965 from pot
    spike8998 finished the tournament in 114th place
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 2965 | Rake 0
    Board [As 3d 6s 4c 4h]
    Seat 1: rauhespiele (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 2: ROCKERS888 (small blind) showed [Kc 4d] and won (2965) with three of a kind, Fours
    Seat 3: spike8998 (big blind) showed [Ks Ah] and lost with two pair, Aces and Fours
    Seat 4: ceaserea folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 5: BARRYDOGG378 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 6: buxiboy folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 7: V.H. MAXX folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 8: xxAPCxx folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 9: windhaha2012 folded before Flop (didn't bet)

  • #2
    It's best not to post these just after they happen spike. I suspect that if you look at it again tomorrow even you may wonder what your point was

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Darkman61 View Post
      It's best not to post these just after they happen spike. I suspect that if you look at it again tomorrow even you may wonder what your point was
      Exactly what the title says , Skill
      We can all sit at a table and shove with any 2 cards
      No skill needed , just turn up an ship it

      Comment


      • #4
        He was on steal, Spike, He got lucky. It happens. In a fast tourney, any shove with < 20 BB is not unusual. He had 5BB or so, he wanted you to fold. You had a hand, but got unlucky. It's the nature of this game. If it weren't for the negative point structure, we'd probably see more of this.

        Comment


        • #5
          Everybody has folded to him in the SB. He has 5xBB remaining and holds a King. What are you suggesting? He should fold?

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Darkman61 View Post
            Everybody has folded to him in the SB. He has 5xBB remaining and holds a King. What are you suggesting? He should fold?
            Yes
            I would
            I wouldn't even call the big blind let alone shove it all in to leave myself 35 bits
            Tourney life at stake I don't think so
            But then my idea of card value must differ from the rest of the world

            Comment


            • #7
              I think you've become institutionalised spike. If the Premier League is getting played as a standard tournament rather than the way we used to play the old league, that's an insta shove

              Comment


              • #8
                I'm happy with my play
                I got sucked out on the river by a hand that had a 5% chance of winning with the river to come
                It's not the first time and certainly won't be the last
                I will continue to play my premium hands strongly because in the long run they will win more times than they lose
                Last edited by spike8998; Wed Aug 24, 2011, 10:58 AM.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by spike8998 View Post
                  Yes
                  I would
                  I wouldn't even call the big blind let alone shove it all in to leave myself 35 bits
                  Tourney life at stake I don't think so
                  But then my idea of card value must differ from the rest of the world
                  The card value isnt the issue spike mate. He is severely short stacked and he has only one opponent to shake off. If he has you down as a reasonably TAG player, then he is most likely thinking he can shove in this spot knowing that you cant/wont call without a big hand. But he could be doing this steal with ATC....from 23offsuit to AA. He probably doesnt even want you to call with a hand that he is beating (like QJ) in case you suck out. He wants your blind and the antes with no fuss.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Of Course

                    Spike, don't you realize by now that if you lost the hand, and didn't have a made hand, to Dm, it's not a bad beat. Like when I was just playing the open league, and I watched a guy ship it 6 times in a row, getting nothing to call with, and finally I get this hand.

                    PokerStars Game #66464551753: Tournament #422952905, Freeroll Hold'em No Limit - Level I (20/40) - 2011/08/24 5:05:53 ET
                    Table '422952905 88' 9-max Seat #8 is the button
                    Seat 1: valerisan (2340 in chips)
                    Seat 2: Mikiwor (1480 in chips) is sitting out
                    Seat 3: siganara (1800 in chips)
                    Seat 4: dims077 (700 in chips)
                    Seat 5: Alexikos (1420 in chips)
                    Seat 6: fahmedbd (4780 in chips)
                    Seat 7: Stakehorse75 (1500 in chips)
                    Seat 8: Perec638 (1440 in chips)
                    Seat 9: Taasi23 (1460 in chips) is sitting out
                    Taasi23: posts small blind 20
                    valerisan: posts big blind 40
                    *** HOLE CARDS ***
                    Dealt to Stakehorse75 [Qd Ah]
                    Mikiwor: folds
                    siganara: calls 40
                    dims077: folds
                    Alexikos: folds
                    fahmedbd: calls 40
                    Stakehorse75: raises 120 to 160
                    Perec638: folds
                    Taasi23: folds
                    valerisan: raises 2180 to 2340 and is all-in
                    Mikiwor has returned
                    siganara: folds
                    fahmedbd: folds
                    Stakehorse75: calls 1340 and is all-in
                    Uncalled bet (840) returned to valerisan
                    *** FLOP *** [7d 7h Tc]
                    *** TURN *** [7d 7h Tc] [Kc]
                    *** RIVER *** [7d 7h Tc Kc] [4d]
                    *** SHOW DOWN ***
                    valerisan: shows [4h Th] (two pair, Tens and Sevens)
                    Stakehorse75: shows [Qd Ah] (a pair of Sevens)
                    valerisan collected 3100 from pot
                    *** SUMMARY ***
                    Total pot 3100 | Rake 0
                    Board [7d 7h Tc Kc 4d]
                    Seat 1: valerisan (big blind) showed [4h Th] and won (3100) with two pair, Tens and Sevens
                    Seat 2: Mikiwor folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                    Seat 3: siganara folded before Flop
                    Seat 4: dims077 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                    Seat 5: Alexikos folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                    Seat 6: fahmedbd folded before Flop
                    Seat 7: Stakehorse75 showed [Qd Ah] and lost with a pair of Sevens
                    Seat 8: Perec638 (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                    Seat 9: Taasi23 (small blind) folded before Flop


                    Of course it wasn't a bad beat, but I think spike was trying to show the level of skill.
                    Here, in the open league, it is poor, you basically wait until you have 4 or 5 BBs left, then push, otherwise, you sit and fold away your blinds...

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Thanks S/Horse

                      "Of course it wasn't a bad beat, but I think spike was trying to show the level of skill."

                      At last someone who sees my point

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Yeah. Okay. If you still can't see he made the right play, who am I to try and convince you otherwise

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          in that hand both people made the right play,just that this time the worst hand won nothing you can do its just the luck off the cards,
                          3 Time Bracelet Winner


                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Love ya' Spike..you know that..but this is an absolutely correct push imo.
                            Did he get lucky? Of course. But shove/fold ranges clearly dictate this as a shove w/ no action in front.
                            I think some of us are aware that we can get down to below even 1BB before we have to shove and still can make a nice comeback...did it myself more than a few times before Black Friday. But it isn't correct to do so.
                            Truthfully, imo, this guy should really be shoving atc here..it's just +EV ... that you will fold most of the time.

                            Hang in there bud, you got this.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              LOLZ, I love it. Listen to Dman.

                              His shove is standard in this situation and 100% correct. NOT SHOVING would have demonstrated a lack of skill on his part. Shoving, whether he did it for the right or wrong reasons, was absolutely the correct play.
                              Head Live Trainer
                              Check out my Videos

                              4 Time Bracelet Winner



                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X

                              X Cookies Information

                              We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.