PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this a wrong call?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Is this a wrong call?

    Head to head

    PokerStars Game #66326409170: Tournament #416410031, Freeroll Hold'em No Limit - Level XI (400/800) - 2011/08/21 9:21:18 ET
    Table '416410031 1' 9-max Seat #1 is the button
    Seat 1: Highland_Con (22457 in chips)
    Seat 9: Kiwi 05 Fan (35543 in chips)
    Highland_Con: posts the ante 75
    Kiwi 05 Fan: posts the ante 75
    Highland_Con: posts small blind 400
    Kiwi 05 Fan: posts big blind 800
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to Highland_Con [6h 8h]
    Highland_Con: raises 800 to 1600
    Kiwi 05 Fan: raises 1600 to 3200
    Highland_Con: calls 1600
    *** FLOP *** [3d 6c 3s]
    Kiwi 05 Fan: checks
    Highland_Con: bets 19182 and is all-in
    Kiwi 05 Fan: calls 19182
    *** TURN *** [3d 6c 3s] [Ts]
    *** RIVER *** [3d 6c 3s Ts] [7c]
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    Kiwi 05 Fan: shows [Ad Ac] (two pair, Aces and Threes)
    Highland_Con: shows [6h 8h] (two pair, Sixes and Threes)
    Kiwi 05 Fan collected 44914 from pot
    Highland_Con finished the tournament in 2nd place
    Kiwi 05 Fan wins the tournament and receives $500.00 - congratulations!
    Kiwi 05 Fan wins an entry to tournament #416397437
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 44914 | Rake 0
    Board [3d 6c 3s Ts 7c]
    Seat 1: Highland_Con (button) (small blind) showed [6h 8h] and lost with two pair, Sixes and Threes
    Seat 9: Kiwi 05 Fan (big blind) showed [Ad Ac] and won (44914) with two pair, Aces and Threes

    How would you have played this?

  • #2
    I'd have raised more preflop (std opening raise, instead of min raise). When re-raised preflop, you have to consider a pkt pair from your opponent. Due to that, instead of pushing the flop, I'd probably make a pot-sized bet.

    Although... reads would mean alot and by this point in a tourney, you should have a read on your opp. If they're raising light at the final table... then I've got absolutely no problem shipping the flop.
    Super-Moderator



    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      Not sure it is the right call - who knows if any bet would push Kiwi off his Pocket Rockets? Even if he lost, he would still have about 12K in chips.

      Totally aside from the betting, I find it interesting that your avatar shows Pocket Aces (As,Ad), and Kiwi had the other two (Ac,Ah) in his hand.

      Second place was still a good finish. Congrats.

      Herk

      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.