PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.


No announcement yet.


  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Withdraws

    Do I need to claim my withdraws on my taxes. Does anybody know. Last thing I need is trouble from the IRS.

  • #2
    if its over $1000 i think you do. not sure about smaller amounts. not positive tho


    • #3
      From what I've understood about it, if you can claim professional poker status (it's your main job) then it's total wins - total losses for the year.

      If you are an amateur it get's really stupid. For tournamets and SnGs it's winning amount - buy in for each individual tournament that must be claimed. If you're not in the money then you cannot deduct that buy-in as a loss.

      For Ring games it's what you leave with - total amount brought to the table for every single session. If you lose money it's non-deductible.

      Given the ridiculous way the IRS figures the taxes for amateurs you could lose money over the course of the year and still owe the IRS taxes on it.


      • #4
        Last edited by fadmin; Fri Feb 18, 2011, 05:57 AM.



        X Cookies Information

        We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.