PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

"X" - Prologue (a short story)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "X" - Prologue (a short story)

OK, so I've been doing a little too much on the negative side of poker. I'm sorry about that. Here's a little something to freshen things up. It's short and sweet and is the introductory chapter to a series of short stories on a character I introduced in the Michelle series named "X." Enjoy.

"How a fish was born"
    By Aaron Hendrix

I started playing poker when I was fourteen. Tommy Chen took me down into the basement of Antonio's Italian Restaurant and had me sit in the corner. I watched in amazement as money and insults flew from person to person. The sound of the cards being shuffled clicked in time with the rhythm of my breathing. I begged Tommy after that night to teach me how to play. It was three months later before Tommy was finally able to convince Antonio to let me into the game.

I learned a hard lesson the first night I played. I lost $400, which might seem like a lot to most fourteen year old boys, but my Dad owned a string of laundromats and money wasn't really a concern of mine. Poker became an addiction. I would play whenever I could. Some nights I would win a lot, while others were not so good. To me though, it wasn't about winning or losing, it was about having fun. Nothing thrilled me more than seeing the look on someones face when I took a huge pot from them.