PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

should i just have checked the flop?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • should i just have checked the flop?


  • #2
    what type of tourney is this from and what reads did you have on the opps? Please always include this (especially the tourney type), as it's critical information that we need, in order to get you the best possible answer. Different tourneys have different strategies and need to be played differently.

    John (JWK24)
    Super-Moderator



    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      Hi westlyking! I'll assume that this is from a cash tourney, as it would be a snap-fold in a league game as ATs is nowhere near strong enough to play from this position. With ATs from middle position, here is where a read on the opps left to act is important. If the opps are passive (won't raise), then I can either make a standard raise to 300 (3BB+1BB for each limper) or I can also fold, as ATs is basically the worst hand that I'm going to consider playable from this spot at the table. If any of the opps are aggressive behind me, then I'm folding as my hand is nowhere near strong enough to call a standard raise with. I now get a short-stack shove and a flat from the BB. While I'd like to isolate the short-stack, their raise is not a legal raise, so I don't have the option to re-raise to isolate. Due to this, I'm going to call and re-evaluate on the flop. I flop a flush draw and have the opp with chips left check to me. Since I'm only A high and have no side pot to take down if I bet as a semi-bluff, I'm going to check behind. I have nothing extra to win, so I don't want to take an unnecessary chance, especially since I'm up against two opponents. If I saw the turn and the opp checked to me, then I'd make a standard value bet and since there is one opp left in the pot with chips, I'll bet 1/2 pot. Hope this helps and good luck at the tables.umbup: John (JWK24)
      Super-Moderator



      6 Time Bracelet Winner


      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.