PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

is this a fold pre ,

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • is this a fold pre ,

    This was hand 78 of the tourney . Up to this point i had played 11 hands , of which 8 were from the BB as most pots were limped pots . Had no real read on villain . When the 3bet comes from the BB I know he probably has AK but with my stack size and the increasing blinds I decided I was playing this hand once it had been folded to me . Against the BBs reraising range i think AJo is pretty much a flip here ; calling his 3bet is more spewey i think ; calling anf folding to a BB shove on this flop is inconceivable .


    Poker Stars $4.00+$0.40 No Limit Hold'em Tournament - t75/t150 Blinds + t20 - 9 players - View hand 2182897
    DeucesCracked Poker Videos Hand History Converter

    BTN: t13540 M = 33.43
    SB: t8535 M = 21.07
    BB: t3415 M = 8.43
    UTG: t2445 M = 6.04
    UTG+1: t8870 M = 21.90
    UTG+2: t1075 M = 2.65
    Hero (MP1): t2130 M = 5.26
    MP2: t3300 M = 8.15
    CO: t29705 M = 73.35

    Pre Flop: (t405) Hero is MP1 with J :diamond: A :spade:
    3 folds, Hero raises to t325, 4 folds, BB raises to t1050, Hero raises to t1800, BB raises to t2550, Hero calls t310 all in

    Flop: (t4475) T :spade: 3 :diamond: J :heart: (2 players - 1 is all in)

    Turn: (t4475) Q :diamond: (2 players - 1 is all in)

    River: (t4475) A :club: (2 players - 1 is all in)

    Final Pot: t4475
    BB shows A :diamond: K :club: (a straight, Ten to Ace)
    Hero shows J :diamond: A :spade: (two pair, Aces and Jacks)
    BB wins t4475
    Last edited by frasierbeams; Sat Apr 20, 2013, 02:55 AM. Reason: problem with converter

  • #2
    Given that you read him as having a beter ace than you then yes its probably a fold after he reraises you.

    Grade b
    I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught. ~Winston Churchill

    13 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      I think you should probably fold to the 3-bet. Even if villain's 3-betting range includes KQs and ATs, then his value-raising range is something like 88+,ATs+,KQs,AJo+.
      Against that range, AJ has 36% equity, so you're getting it in bad when you 4-bet, as he's shoving with all hands he 3-bets, because it would be complete spew for him to 3-bet and then fold.
      Bracelet Winner

      Comment


      • #4
        from my experience when a blind reraises preflop, they usually have a strong hand. with 2 reraises i knew AJ would be beat but with 310 left youre pretty much committed at that point and just have to get lucky

        Comment

        Working...
        X

        X Cookies Information

        We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.