PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Qualifier skill league about 78/172 left

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Qualifier skill league about 78/172 left

    Hello. I get AKo in SB. 2 limpers join the action. I make a standard raise of 4,5 BB ( 2,5 BB + 1 BB / limper ) because I am out of position and have a good hand that I want to play. I get called by one player and I flop top pair top kicker and the the nut flush draw. So I decide to bet 50% of the pot because I don't need protection against the flush draw. He calls, turn is a 10. He could have hit his straight but I decide to bet again, this time a bit smaller than 50% of the pot so he would call. He raises, I call and the rest is history. I don't think I did anything wrong here, but I thought it would be a interesting hand to post and I could get some feedback in the case I am wrong. Thanks.

  • #2
    Hi unnamed,

    I like the pre flop play. And i like to cbet that board. When you reach the turn, you should bet more if you think you are ahead to get value; When he raises he puts you in a very tough spot, at least it would be tough for me, because he's been so passive and i feel most of the time this raise beats a one pair hand. Maybe you should have fold there.

    I think that you have to pay more attention to players and take notes of them, because that is what is going to make this decisions easier .

    Hope it helps!

    Comment


    • #3
      heey unnamed i think yits just a litle bad luck. i think its a well played hand and i partly agree with guido here. i think your most of the time behind BUT you have to call 1000 tow win almost 8000 so i think you have to call here
      Triple Bracelet Winner

      Comment


      • #4
        Thanks for the replies,

        I considered that when I made that bet on the turn, I was pot committed so there wouldn't be no folding from me at that point
        Regarding notes, I do take notes on players
        Last edited by unnamedone12; Thu Feb 21, 2013, 12:57 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          Hi unnamedone12,

          I think you've played the hand perfect and just got unlucky.

          On the turn I would consider myself committed. Either bet like you have or just move in, either way I think.

          I wouldn't ever be folding. I think villan could do it with a worse pair and flush draw even so I think your equity in the situation is fine.

          Worst case scenario you still have a redraw to the nuts.

          Just an unlucky cooler.
          Andy


          Quad Bracelet Winner

          Comment


          • #6
            Thanks for the reply Andy,

            I opted for the smaller bet on the turn trying to make him call with a weaker hand, perhaps a flush draw, or maybe even raise me with an weaker K, if he was putting me on a draw ...
            Last edited by unnamedone12; Thu Feb 21, 2013, 02:10 AM.

            Comment

            Working...
            X

            X Cookies Information

            We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.