PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

All-in on AKo. Bad call or bad beat?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • All-in on AKo. Bad call or bad beat?

    This hand was played in the Hawking NL Freeroll. I got in top 500 or so then this happend.. The villan reads 35/35/inf. after I think something around 10 hands at that table. Pre-flop with one limper I raise 5BB's with my AKo. The villan on the BB re-raises to all-in. I called it. In the end, I got squat.. Bad call or bad beat?

  • #2
    I wouldn't say it's a bad call or a bad beat. To me it's a pretty standard flip that you happened to lose this time. I may be wrong in saying this, whoever does the hand evaluation might tell you, but with 16 BB and a limper in the pot I'd probably just be shoving in that spot. I'm sure in this case the result would be the same, however you can't really bet that much of your stack when you're short and then fold so I'd just be getting it in right there.

    Tournament of Champions Winner 2013

    Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      Although it would't have made any difference, my play would be to shove to isolate the limper instead of raising. You are putting 1/3 of your stack in anyway and AK likes to see all five cards.

      As played there is nothing wrong with your call as they might shove a smaller ace as well.

      Comment


      • #4
        Your play is fine - you cant fold having committed 1/3 of your stack with a premium hand, and you need to chip up to make top 72 places. I would fold if this was very close to the bubble. To me the BB overplayed his 99 but that is out of your control anyway.

        I also agree that you could shove over the limper - your raise essentially says I am all in and does scream strength, so in future I would shove.

        James

        Comment


        • #5
          Personally I wudda limped in to see if I hit
          After all you are on a draw any pair has you beat if you miss all 5 cards
          If you miss the flop its an easy fold
          No way am I call the BB raise if I just limp in
          Maybe I'm to tight/nitty
          That's Just me
          But You are still on a draw

          Comment


          • #6
            Hi GuuZ88! In these astronomer tourneys, I try to look to get a chip stack of about 75-80k, as that is a ballpark number that I always used as to what I needed to get a ticket from it. With under 5k chips, I'm definitely looking for a situation to accumulate chips. With AK on the button, I will make my standard raise, which for this blind level is to 2.5BB+1BB for each limper, so I will raise to 1050. I want to be called and am ready to call a shove, especially from an opponent that has been playing loose. For my standard raises, I use 3BB+1BB for each limper up to 100/200, then lower it to 2.5BB+1BB for each limper, then at 1k/2k I lower it to 2.2BB+1BB for each limper. By raising to 1500, I would have basically 1/3 of my chips into the pot, which means that I'm at the committment point, so if I would do that, then I would shove first so that the pressure of making a call is on the opponent and not on me. When the opp shoves, I need to call 3295 chips into a pot that will be 19,814 (16.6%). I then go to pokerstove to see if my hand has enough equity to call and with the HUD numbers provided, I know to put in 35% for the opponents range and with this, my hand has 64.46% equity. Since my hand has much more equity than the equity that I would have to put into the pot, this is a +EV call (+47.86%EV.... .which is huge!). The hand ends up a standard race situation, pair vs two overcards, and I lose out on the race, which I expect to have happen about 1/2 the time. Hope this helps and good luck at the tables.umbup: John (JWK24)
            Super-Moderator



            6 Time Bracelet Winner


            Comment


            • #7
              Thanx everybody for their thoughts and the analysis!

              Comment

              Working...
              X

              X Cookies Information

              We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.