PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

give up or float-big 11

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • give up or float-big 11

    no read on villain it's a push or fold right? no more floating

  • #2
    If he donks the flop and gives up on the turn a lot, then floating totally has merit. However, if you're wrong it will cost you a large amount of your stack. Also, do you float the flop and bet the turn if he checks? Or do you check back the turn since you probably have the best hand anyway and really don't want to get raised? What do you do when he fires the river? I think if you check back the turn after calling the flop you have to call on most rivers.
    4 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      reads would mean a bunch here. Without them and only having 1 overcard, instead of 2 overcards, I think your fold is the correct play.
      The opp bets 1/2 pot, so that says to me that they are trying to price out a flush draw (incase you have pkt hearts), which means that they most likely have Qx.
      Depending on the opp though (which is where the reads would come into play), they could be doing this with a set, small pair, Ax or air too. They may also fold on later streets too, as Jared stated.

      Knowing more about the opponent and how they are playing will make decisions like this much easier.
      Super-Moderator



      6 Time Bracelet Winner


      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by oriholic View Post
        If he donks the flop and gives up on the turn a lot, then floating totally has merit. However, if you're wrong it will cost you a large amount of your stack. Also, do you float the flop and bet the turn if he checks? Or do you check back the turn since you probably have the best hand anyway and really don't want to get raised? What do you do when he fires the river? I think if you check back the turn after calling the flop you have to call on most rivers.
        if ever i float i will definitely want my chips back if he checks the turn i will shoves the turn

        yes the problem lies if and if he double barrel i definitely have to fold

        i just chose the easy exit and wait for my next spot

        if only i have something on my opp, i can make a better decision

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by JWK24 View Post
          reads would mean a bunch here. Without them and only having 1 overcard, instead of 2 overcards, I think your fold is the correct play.
          The opp bets 1/2 pot, so that says to me that they are trying to price out a flush draw (incase you have pkt hearts), which means that they most likely have Qx.
          Depending on the opp though (which is where the reads would come into play), they could be doing this with a set, small pair, Ax or air too. They may also fold on later streets too, as Jared stated.

          Knowing more about the opponent and how they are playing will make decisions like this much easier.
          lessons learned no read on opp

          get out of the hand as early as possible

          Comment


          • #6
            But your AK is usually ahead and a shove will never get called by worse. You can maybe fold out some small pairs, but that's about it. I think I like checking back for pot control, and calling most rivers.
            4 Time Bracelet Winner


            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by oriholic View Post
              But your AK is usually ahead and a shove will never get called by worse. You can maybe fold out some small pairs, but that's about it. I think I like checking back for pot control, and calling most rivers.
              but calling means you can't win pot 2 ways. I'm short i need to win the pot on the turn or else he might get a pair on the river then i will call i lose.

              i only got AJ

              Comment

              Working...
              X

              X Cookies Information

              We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.