PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How should I play AQo in this situation?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • How should I play AQo in this situation?

    Hi Guys, Another hand in a 25c ($100 added) tournament. Looking back I had a few border line hands in this tournament. I was ready to call the short stack push but the bigger stack calling complicated things. I felt I was too strong to fold and too deep stacked to re-raise all in so I called. Not sure calling out of position is great either. Should I lead out on the flop? I actually threw away the best hand Thanks

  • #2
    how was the bigger stack been playing?

    Comment


    • #3
      I remember him being in a lot of hands. Looking at the stats I have on him now 45/12 (90 hands)

      Comment


      • #4
        that's a sticky situation. You've got a decent hand with potential, but have a shove and a call in front of you and to top it off, you're out of position.

        AQ plays much better against one opp than two and due to that, I'm mucking it here preflop. It wasn't the case here, but most often, you may be ahead of one opp, but normally not both (one will have AK or a pocket pair).

        11k is a stack that can get you deep into this, so I'm not risking it here, out of position in a 3-way pot with AQ.
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          Thanks JWK

          That makes sense, folding pre-flop does look like the best of a bad set of options. Would betting the flop have been an option after I called pre-flop? I'd commited a large number of chips and the flop didn't help Ax, broadway or most paired hands. I might have been able to get them to fold out or at least i then know that I'm probably behind and it's time to give up.

          Comment


          • #6
            You could bet the flop, but it really looks like this opp is a calling station, that won't fold to a flop bet and with them being a station, they could have easily hit a part of the board. If that's the case, you really won't gain much info from betting the flop, other than that you now in the same situation, but deeper into the pot, on the turn.
            Super-Moderator



            6 Time Bracelet Winner


            Comment

            Working...
            X

            X Cookies Information

            We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.