PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this the Badbeat of the week?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Is this the Badbeat of the week?

    PokerStars Game #71608962239: Tournament #473835475, Freeroll Hold'em No Limit - Level II (15/30) - 2011/12/04 19:44:20 WET [2011/12/04 14:44:20 ET] Table '473835475 92' 9-max Seat #6 is the button Seat 1: wijiwan (4085 in chips) Seat 2: kerrill (1900 in chips) Seat 3: freeirie1 (1435 in chips) is sitting out Seat 4: Evolnomar (1685 in chips) Seat 5: adi1211 (3920 in chips) is sitting out Seat 6: wanderer202 (610 in chips) Seat 7: wingnuts3 (1410 in chips) Seat 8: insider66 (10 in chips) Seat 9: F1sh4UrCh1p5 (2935 in chips) wingnuts3: posts small blind 15 insider66: posts big blind 10 and is all-in *** HOLE CARDS *** Dealt to F1sh4UrCh1p5 [Th Tc] F1sh4UrCh1p5: raises 45 to 60 wijiwan: folds adi1211 has returned kerrill: calls 60 freeirie1: folds Evolnomar: calls 60 adi1211: calls 60 wanderer202: folds wingnuts3: folds *** FLOP *** [Kc Qd Td] F1sh4UrCh1p5: bets 265 kerrill: calls 265 Evolnomar: raises 1360 to 1625 and is all-in adi1211: calls 1625 F1sh4UrCh1p5: calls 1360 kerrill: folds *** TURN *** [Kc Qd Td] [Qs] F1sh4UrCh1p5: bets 1250 and is all-in adi1211: calls 1250 *** RIVER *** [Kc Qd Td Qs] [Ad] *** SHOW DOWN *** F1sh4UrCh1p5: shows [Th Tc] (a full house, Tens full of Queens) adi1211: shows [Jd Kd] (a Royal Flush) adi1211 collected 2500 from side pot-2 Evolnomar: shows [Ts Qh] (a full house, Queens full of Tens) adi1211 collected 5345 from side pot-1 insider66: shows [Ac 5s] (two pair, Aces and Queens) adi1211 collected 60 from main pot kerrill said, "vnh" F1sh4UrCh1p5 has timed out Evolnomar re-buys and receives 3000 chips for $1.00 F1sh4UrCh1p5 finished the tournament in 1609th place insider66 finished the tournament in 1610th place *** SUMMARY *** Total pot 7905 Main pot 60. Side pot-1 5345. Side pot-2 2500. | Rake 0 Board [Kc Qd Td Qs Ad] Seat 1: wijiwan folded before Flop (didn't bet) Seat 2: kerrill folded on the Flop Seat 3: freeirie1 folded before Flop (didn't bet) Seat 4: Evolnomar showed [Ts Qh] and lost with a full house, Queens full of Tens Seat 5: adi1211 showed [Jd Kd] and won (7905) with a Royal Flush Seat 6: wanderer202 (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet) Seat 7: wingnuts3 (small blind) folded before Flop Seat 8: insider66 (big blind) showed [Ac 5s] and lost with two pair, Aces and Queens Seat 9: F1sh4UrCh1p5 showed [Th Tc] and lost with a full house, Tens full of Queens
    Last edited by F1sh4UrCh1p5; Sun Dec 04, 2011, 10:23 PM. Reason: added replayer

  • #2
    I wouldn't really call it a bad beat, but I would call it a cooler.

    Your bet sizing is a bit large, and there were hands that could have been ahead of you on the flop even though you held bottom set. granted, I am not folding bottom set here very often at all, but you may well have been really badly out flopped.

    Both your opponents flopped pretty darn good here too, one with bottom 2 pair and one with top pair and an open end straight flush draw.

    I am just as likely to not fold the open end straight flush draw with top pair as I would be your bottom set, so you cannot blame that guy for sticking around.

    the guy you gotta question is the one who shipped over you on bottom 2 pair. That is a hand that will be good a lot of the time, but with all broadway cards versus a UTG open raise and c-Bet, it loses a TON of it's strength.

    So to be really honest, it was the guy with QT who made the "mistake" by over valuing his holding here and shoving that set you up for a big loss. I would not blame the guy with the top pair and monster draw for stacking off at all (he is actually a race to your set), and it is going to be hard for you to find a fold of bottom set when you did not get RR'ed pre flop at all.

    The ONLY way you might have gotten away is if you credit someone here for maybe holding the straight, and see the jam AND the call of the jam as a tiny door way to fold your set...but again, that is a REALLY SMALL doorway to try fitting through...

    So this is really just a cooler, and not quite a "bad beat", since the guy who did win had every reason to stick around.

    hope it helps.
    Last edited by JDean; Sun Dec 04, 2011, 10:51 PM.
    Double Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      I'd say it's a cooler too. Really all 3 players had a right to be in the hand and while you were slightly ahead pre flop, you were never an overwhelming favorite (and actually came in last of the 3 in the end). The hand with the most equity on the flop was the eventual winner, with KJ of diamonds.

      These types of hands are unfortunately going to happen.
      Super-Moderator



      6 Time Bracelet Winner


      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.