PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Live Poker

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Live Poker

    Hello guys,

    This is not a hand from a online poker tournament, it's from an live poker tournament in my city and I really would like to ask about any opinions.

    It was a 50 Euro Buy-in for 15.000 Chips with a Second chance till final table (At second chance you get 20.000 Chips)

    There were bout 60 entrants.

    I held on like for 5 hours, and was in the last 22-23 with a stack about 80k.

    So now here comes the hand that grounded me
    I was in late-position
    Blinds at 1600/800 200 Ante, game is 7 handed.
    I look under my cards, from late position, what do I see? Queens. Very excited, I wait for my turn.

    Some guy from early position limps in, I looked at his stack size and it was a little bit lower than mine, so I considered He must have a good hand. Nobody calls, I raise to 4800. Nobody calls, just the limper.

    And here comes the flop: 2s 6d 7d
    I was with: Qd Qs

    Villain checks
    Me raise to 8000
    Villain calls 8000

    Turn: Jd

    Villain checks
    Me raise to 10.000
    Villain reraise to 22.000
    Me All-in
    Villain Calls

    Cards villain: Js 6c
    Me cards: Qd Qs

    The river comes 3s
    The board was: 2s 6d 7d Jd 3s

    I would've put him on a flushdraw first, but why would he have reraised with a flush there instead of letting me raise on him on the river? I knew he could have maybe 2 pairs and that's why I called all-in cuz I had 9 outs to hit my flush, 2 outs to hit my set and another 6 outs that the board get paired (in the right way for me)

    So I had 17 outs so I was on a 1:2.6 chance

    Anyway, I'm kinda sorry that I moved there all-in and risked my tournament life since I was very well on chips for the final table, but I'm just thinking, should I have moved all-in there right on the flop to get the +6000-7000 chips that were in the pot allreadt

  • #2
    Hi Harap Alb96! Preflop, I'm definitely going to make a standard raise when it gets to me and raise to 4800. On the flop, however, I need to size my bet based on the size of the pot, number of opps and board texture. With one opp, I need to bet 1/2 pot. I want to keep all of my bets standard, so that the opps don't get a tell on the cards that I'm playing. The same on the turn, I need to bet 1/2 pot. However, when the opp raises me after the third diamond hitting, I'm going to call and re-evaluate on the river since I have the Qd. If I didn't have the diamond, I'd need to fold. I'm expecting to see them turn over a flush or two pair (mainly 67) just about every time here and I don't want to put all of my chips into the middle with only 1 pair. Hope this helps and good luck at the tables.umbup: John (JWK24)
    Super-Moderator



    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment

    Working...
    X

    X Cookies Information

    We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.