PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.


No announcement yet.

Limped in, got 15 outs, is it right to call an ALL IN?

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Limped in, got 15 outs, is it right to call an ALL IN?

    9 players, i was on BB with 89 suited, someone after me (not very late position) raised to about 3x or 4x BB, i limped in.

    [on the flop],
    i got a outside straight and flush draw:
    community cards are [10,J,low-card] or [6,7,J], whatever looked dry.

    i bet 3xBB, then he re-raised to over 60xBB and was ALL IN,
    any other opponents folded,
    i called. (i thought he might have a big pair or a set at most)

    [turn & river]
    i didn't get my outs

    he showed his KK, and won the pot.

    anyhow,,, Did do the right thing?

  • #2
    the determining factor is the pot equity vs hand equity on the flop.

    pot equity = number of chips I need to call divided by the size of the pot after my chips would go into it

    hand equity = number of outs times (4% or 2% from the rule of 4 and 2)... here for an OESD (8 outs) and being all-in, it would be 4% per out since I'm guaranteed to see both streets, so my hand is worth 32%

    If the pot equity is less than 32% then I call. If not, I need to fold.

    John (JWK24)

    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    • #3
      Ok, that is, The flop gave me a OES and Flush draw, 8 + 9 - 2(duplicated) = 15 outs, is that right?

      So the hand equity is about 60%, and therefore, i should call the all-in

      Thank you very much!



      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.