PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

5NL 6-max Zoom - KK, missed value?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 5NL 6-max Zoom - KK, missed value?

    Villain is a Supernova, fairly capable player from what I can tell. Probably opening a bit wider as he thinks he has a post flop edge and as we're pretty deep I think this will make him play wider too. I make a fairly sound 3-bet I think which he calls. Flop the joint and decide I would c-bet this flop with a lot of my range and can be called so I go ahead for about 60% pot and he raises. Not sure what to make of this, bluff? AK? Surely not some Ace rag draw? AA? Naahh.. So I call thinking a raise accomplishes nothing but getting him to fold bad hands. Turn is an Ace, I happen to think this is a good card for some of his range so I check making it look like I don't like it. Villain checks back and I think he may actually be pretty weak. River is a blank and I decide I'll go with my story of I'm trying to bluff you and bet an ok amount which he does actually call. It shows as a much but I checked and he had KTdd. Did I miss value somewhere, think he bets river for value if I check? or was I lucky to get a call at all? As always all thoughts and opinions appreciated umbup:

    Tournament of Champions Winner 2013

    Bracelet Winner


  • #2
    I like the way you played this at every spot. It's tough to get much value from top set on a bone dry board like this so you did very well to effectively get three streets of value (the flop raise can be substituted for a turn bet).

    If he had something like 55, he'd want to get the money in as much as you do so you wouldn't have to do anything too special to cooperate in this venture!

    Against all his other non-sets, if you 3Bet flop or lead the turn, he's almost certainly going to fold as there's simply very few hands he can hold that could call against that sort of action.

    Comment


    • #3
      Good to know, cheers Andy!

      Tournament of Champions Winner 2013

      Bracelet Winner

      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.