PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

call or fold

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • call or fold

    Sorry, this hand was deleted by its owner
    I dont normally open this hand UTG but the blinds stats looked fishy and im confident i can get away from a weak one pair hand if villain shows much interest in the pot. When he donked into me i thought hes only doing this with either an ace or a 6, so im basically risking my stack for a measley 20c i had in the pot anyway. Dont have any solid ereads on villain other than he plays a lot of hands his AF was 1 but like i said i know hes only doing this with 2 hands so should i be calling or folding.

  • #2
    Hey Mike When you post hands for eval don't post the results it'll help in the discussion of the hands... as played i'm ok with a fold on the river... at best you're splitting and with so little invested it not worth risking your entire stack for 30c

    another thing with a AF of 1... which is pretty passive should be a alarm when he bets or raises into you

    Comment


    • #3
      The river is a fold. I'm sure you've heard the advice "River donk shoves are always the nuts" by now. While the phrase isn't completely true, it's a pretty accurate guideline.

      There's another "rule" that applies for spots like this one: "If you're chopping at best, don't call". It's a rule that took me a long time to learn. I used to call in spots like this very often. You know those spots where the board makes a straight (like T9876) or it's double paired (like 552JJ) and you think "He's betting big to try and get me off a chop"? Most of the time you're right. But you don't make money by calling to chop at best. Sometimes you'll call and find out villain has a better straight than the one on the board, or he made a boat and your ace high on a double-paired board is no good.

      You can call in spots like this and chop quite often, but when you're not splitting the pot, you're losing your entire stack. Added to that is that when there's a chopped pot, you both lose a few cents to rake anyway. In short, you cannot make any profit with a call here.

      So take a mental note of this rule: If you're thinking of calling in the hope of chopping, don't! Calling for a chop - when there's a reasonable chance you're not chopping at all - is a leak.

      Hope this helps!
      Last edited by ArtySmokesPS; Mon Jul 22, 2013, 01:11 AM.
      Bracelet Winner

      Comment


      • #4
        arty is so eloquent... lol hi

        Comment


        • #5
          Yeah makes sense i guess i can adjust to that rule i spose, obviously when he donked i knew he had the straight but i figured he done that with a 6 or a A so i wanted a chop but if you say dont call to chop thats fine by me.

          Pinoy i dont know how to stop the showdown il have a look at the next hand i post im sure il work it out i guess you have to delete some of the text in the hand you put into the hand reader thing.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by mike2198 View Post
            Yeah makes sense i guess i can adjust to that rule i spose, obviously when he donked i knew he had the straight but i figured he done that with a 6 or a A so i wanted a chop but if you say dont call to chop thats fine by me.

            Pinoy i dont know how to stop the showdown il have a look at the next hand i post im sure il work it out i guess you have to delete some of the text in the hand you put into the hand reader thing.
            when you're putting the hand in the replayer just delete the text at the bottom right before your last action... yeah you have the right idea

            Comment


            • #7
              sorry error
              Last edited by taxi128; Mon Jul 22, 2013, 02:55 AM.
              Triple Bracelet Winner

              Comment

              Working...
              X

              X Cookies Information

              We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.