PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

5NL 6-max Zoom AJo

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 5NL 6-max Zoom AJo

    Hi, the villain is playing 16/12/8 with AF=2 and c-bet =73% over 562 hands. Should I've played this draw more passively ? I decided to play more aggressive since I had the gut shot too and he c-bets a lot so he might be suspicious of my raise. But thinking back now, I could get more value of worst diamonds and get away on teh missed draw on teh river by playing it more passively. what are your thoughts ?

  • #2
    Once villain raises you on the flop you seem to be behind his entire range. You have a good amount of equity, but as far as I can tell you have no fold equity. This leads me to think that check-raising then calling his 3bet may be best, even out of position. Had you been in position then calling his flop bet may have been best.

    Check out this range I assigned villain when he 3bets the flop:
    http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/art...c?sitId=180431

    Comment


    • #3
      I think you need to make a plan as soon as you see the flop. Whenever you are check-raising with a strong draw, you should be committed to getting your stack in if villain reraises, especially when you make a big raise like this, because the check-raise costs so much of your stack. With the NFD + gutshot, you'll typically have around 40% equity or more against villain's range, so check-raising here and calling off the rest is fine. The pot lays odds on a call that translate to you needing about 38.5% equity. You've got about 36% against a set, but if we include overpairs, TPTK and worse flush draws than yours, then you get closer to 45%. It's fairly close, but once you've made the raise, it would be a mistake to fold. I don't think a passive line would be +EV, as villain is never paying you off if a fourth flush card comes, unless he holds the . Even with sets, he'll check behind, and he won't call a river lead, as your hand will be face up.
      Bracelet Winner

      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.