PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

OverCards/Double Gutter Out of Position - Lead in or not

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • OverCards/Double Gutter Out of Position - Lead in or not

    Not the most interesting or profitable hand ever.

    Free flop gives me overcards and double straight gutshot draws 7/J on a rainbow flop.

    Just wondering if it is OK/standard/not recommended to lead into a flop like this.

    http://www.boomplayer.com/en/poker-h...486_DE023EAF5F

    Opponent was loose passive. 30/2 preflop small sample 40ish hands - cant work out postflop tendencies

    If I lead I am not going to win a big pot unless they do call and then I hit on later streets, but I win a little if they fold.

    So might it be better to check (and call a bet) than lead to build a pot hoping to hit.

    Ed
    Last edited by EdinFreeMan; Sat May 18, 2013, 12:39 AM.
    4 Time Bracelet Winner



  • #2
    Your better off just raising 4x pre flop there they will either fold or call and fold a cbet, i never get any money out of them unless they hit a pair, you could check but if you dont hit your straight and he makes any pair and you decide to start betting hes not gonna give up his hand.

    Comment


    • #3
      Ed, you played this exactly as I would.
      I'm always checking here and seeing the flop for free. I love leading out on ragged boards in limped pots whether I have equity or not. This board connects quite well with part of a limper's range, but it also completely misses a lot of it too. With this flop, you have quite a lot of equity, so it's not even all that bad if a villain calls on the flop. If you make a straight, you could win a big pot. If you miss out on the turn, a villain will probably give you a cheap price (or even a free card) to keep drawing, and you'll definitely have implied odds, as limpers just can't let go once they make a pair.

      By checking your option and then betting the flop, you're actually risking less money than you would have if you'd made an iso-raise. It's kind of win-win.
      Bracelet Winner

      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.