PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

66, increassing value of hand

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 66, increassing value of hand

    Hey guys, see if i made the right decision. There were a lot of ppl on the hand, so after the flop and the the set made, the re-raise was to gain value for my hand. Anyway the guy stacked off and had straight on the flop ... Please tell me how i could have played better here. Thanks Verarlockloy

  • #2
    Hi Vera,

    I don't really like the over-limp here, as there are too many players still to act. A competent player will make a big raise to destroy your set-mining odds, or you'll get so many limpers that flopping a set of 6s is no longer guaranteed to be the best hand. In later position, you could over-limp, but I think you should fold this time and wait for a better spot.
    As played, the button makes a very small raise that doesn't force anyone out of the pot, so you see the flop 6-handed, which is pretty crazy, even at 2NL.
    You flopped a set on a pretty wet board and the big blind donks out. Your raise is fine. Calling would mean anyone with a flush or straight draw could call and have a good price to try and suck out. The button 3-bets all in on the flop. Since he raised pre, his range includes overpairs (AA-TT) that you beat, but he also might have the nut flush draw with AKs (which you also beat), or a set of 9s or 8s, that have you crushed.
    I'm never folding here. Even though we're beat sometimes, it's generally a very bad idea to fold a set on the flop at 2NL. (I've done it twice in 100,000 hands). It's especially true here, because you've already invested a big chunk of your stack and the pot is now huge.
    So getting it in is good. It's absolutely shocking that villain showed 75s for the straight here. His pre-flop raise did not rep a hand like that at all!
    Against the straight you still have a chance to make a boat or quads, but didn't get lucky here.

    Other than your limp in early position (which isn't terrible, just not optimal) you didn't do anything wrong here. Villain made a weird play and got spectularly lucky.

    Cheers,
    Arty
    Bracelet Winner

    Comment

    Working...
    X

    X Cookies Information

    We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.