PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

10nl FR, flopped 2 overs and a FD on a paired board

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 10nl FR, flopped 2 overs and a FD on a paired board

    just sat down and got QJs in BB. villain 6 opens for 2.5x and villain 2 calls. based on their stack sizes i assume they are inexperienced players and decided to call with my suited connectors thinking i might be paid off in case i hit something, plus im getting decent pot odds. flop comes T77 with two clubs fiving me a FD and 2 overs.i check, villain 6 cbets around 2/3 of the pot and villain 2 folds. what now? do i continue on a paired board?(scared paired boards when having a FD).if he has an overpair, i still have some resonable equity do i raise or call? how much should i raise and if he calls and the turn is a non club, how should i procceed?

  • #2
    Hi espada,

    This is a good flop for you. Villain raised pre in EP, and he'll be c-betting this flop with 100% of his range, which includes overpairs and big aces. I'm calling on the flop to try and make a flush. Raising could lead you to get shoved on by an overpair, so I'd just flat. I wouldn't necessarily be too pleased if we make top pair queen on the turn, as we'd still be losing to QQ+ and TT.
    If we're solely chasing a flush, the only hands we need to worry about are TT that flopped a boat, and AKcc that will over-flush us. So call and see if you hit the flush. The turn might give us some more outs to a straight to go with the flush draw (a 9 would be good, but a K could give villain top boat). If we miss on the turn, and villain makes another decent bet, I'd probably give up, because I'm not sure if we can win a whole stack if we hit one of our outs, as it would be hard for AA/KK to call a river shove if the board is paired and there are three clubs on the board.
    In summary, while I'm always wary of chasing flushes/straights on paired boards, I don't think villain has a boat on this flop very often, so I'd at least see the turn.
    Bracelet Winner

    Comment

    Working...
    X

    X Cookies Information

    We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.