PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Showing losing cards at the showdown

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Showing losing cards at the showdown

    I play in a Hold em tourney once a week consisting of 12 to 18 players of mixed ability but no really good players. Usually if I lose on the showdown I will muck my cards and concede the pot. In the past this has never been a problem and no one has objected. Recently however one player is saying that the losing cards must be shown as it is "in the rules" as there are no tourney rules at the venue and I cannot find a definitive answer I have so far said I will not reveal my cards. Can anyone give a insight to what is the correct answer? Thanks billie

  • #2
    If you are the player that CALLED a bet on the river you do not have to show a losing hand. However, if you were the one betting and someone else called YOUR bet, you must show, and not only that you must turn your cards over FIRST. And the caller then has the option to reveal his hand or muck a loser. If there is no betting in the last round then generally the player closest to the dealers left still in the hand will reveal his hand and then each player clockwise from there either reveals or has the option to muck a worse hand.
    HOWEVER....At showdown, any player delt into the hand can insist on seeing a losing hand. This is to prevent colluding among player (chip dumping and the like) it's considered bad etiquette live to insist on this unless colluding (cheating) is suspected. This is why you can look at the hand history (online) after a showdown and see all players cards that got to showdown.
    Last edited by mtnestegg; Thu Feb 21, 2013, 12:51 PM.
    May the tinfoil protect you. MT

    Comment


    • #3
      Hi billie264

      Thanks for your post and welcome to pokerschoolonline.

      mtnestegg reply is spot on, but you can check it out for yourself here Poker Rules

      This link will also help you find your way round PSO

      Thanks again and good luck.
      Moderator

      Comment


      • #4
        Thank you both for your replies, not wishing to push my luck but if I am called but the opposing player shows his cards first can I still opt to muck? Thanks again billie

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by billie264 View Post
          Thank you both for your replies, not wishing to push my luck but if I am called but the opposing player shows his cards first can I still opt to muck? Thanks again billie
          As has been mentioned, the other person can see your cards anyway if they replay the hand so I wouldn't feel too bad about mucking.

          Comment


          • #6
            Thanks once again guys

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by billie264 View Post
              Thank you both for your replies, not wishing to push my luck but if I am called but the opposing player shows his cards first can I still opt to muck? Thanks again billie
              To me, it's just an ethical thing. If you're called, just flip your cards over. Don't stall and posture hoping your opponent doesn't know any better and flips first, in hopes that you dont have to show a loser.just do the right thing basically. It's good for the game.
              Good luck out there. MT
              May the tinfoil protect you. MT

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by billie264 View Post
                Thank you both for your replies, not wishing to push my luck but if I am called but the opposing player shows his cards first can I still opt to muck? Thanks again billie
                I believe the answer is NO. You opponent has paid to see your cards, and if your playing a draw or total air it is their right to see.

                Grade b

                ps i'm sure this came up in a big life tourny a few years ago may try to look for it.

                http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/for...e-Shmetiquette
                Last edited by Grade b; Sat Feb 23, 2013, 03:08 AM.
                I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught. ~Winston Churchill

                13 Time Bracelet Winner


                Comment

                Working...
                X

                X Cookies Information

                We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.