PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

.01/.02 NLHE AT off, should I have got involved from the SB. What to do with top 2 pr

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • .01/.02 NLHE AT off, should I have got involved from the SB. What to do with top 2 pr

    I am wondering firstly if I should have been involved out of the SB. I was pretty happy calling at the time thinking that the villain had a hand but not necessarily with an A. I wasn't expecting the BB to call. Next thing I hit top two pair on the flop. From previous play I figured that the villain would only c bet if he hit or had a large pocket pair and so I checked to the pre-flop agressor. I was unsure what the BB would do. Since I had flopped top 2 pair should I have donk bet the flop or was it fine to check? My feeling was I didn't want to kill the action. Once he bet the pot I figured he had a strong A or was betting KK, QQ. I didn't believe he had a set as I had a block on the T and A and I don't think he would have preflop raised with 22. Should I have check raised at this point instead of calling? Turn card came 7h and gave a second flush draw but I didn't think he was drawing. I had decided to check raise the turn but had to call the all in instead. I believed I was in front and that he was drawing to two outs (pocket pair) or three outs (AQ or AK) max. I think I had to call but should I have bet/shoved first on the turn? I don't know that he would have folded but what was the better play.

  • #2
    Any reads on the guy on the button? Against a nit, I'm probably folding pre-flop; against a TAG, I'm probably calling, and against a LAG, I'm 3-betting. This guy is relatively short-stacked, so he should commit if he makes a pair.
    As played, for villain to double barrel he usually has an ace. Since you have top 2, I'd check-raise the turn (or even the flop) for value if villain was deeper, expecting him to call with AJ+. Since he only had a half-pot bet left, check-calling the turn is the right play. If you donked, he would fold all his air. Let him make the mistake of getting all his money in with the worst hand.
    Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      Hi Andrew,

      You haven't provided any reads or info on the villains, it's important to take what you know about them into consideration as the play could chang depending on this.

      Knowing only their stack sizes, I would think they are weaker players. I would generally not defend by calling, if the button is loose I'd reraise to isolate him (and be willing to play for his stack), if he's tight I'd just fold.

      On the flop I prefer leading out, if the BB has anything he can call before the button acts (if the button has a big ace, he'll probably raise then, which traps the BB in between you and gets that extra bet out of him). Plus by checking, you risk giving a free card to 2 players, which I really don't want to do on this board as I'm not going to like any J, Q, K, or diamond coming.

      Once the button bets big, I think it's fine to check-raise him all in. He's probably not bet/folding for this size, and if that is what he's going to do then he probably wasn't going to put any more money in the pot anyway unless he draws out on you.
      Head Live Trainer
      Check out my Videos

      4 Time Bracelet Winner



      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by ArtySmokesPS View Post
        Any reads on the guy on the button? Against a nit, I'm probably folding pre-flop; against a TAG, I'm probably calling, and against a LAG, I'm 3-betting. This guy is relatively short-stacked, so he should commit if he makes a pair.
        You were posting while I was typing.

        I agree on the fold and reraise part, but not liking calling too much vs a TAG as AT doesn't play that well OOP here... we'll miss the flop 2/3rds of the time and end up check-folding a lot, and when we hit the flop we either won't get stack action when ahead, or will get it but often be behind when we do (more often than ahead when we do). My thoughts at least.
        Head Live Trainer
        Check out my Videos

        4 Time Bracelet Winner



        Comment

        Working...
        X

        X Cookies Information

        We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.