PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2NL Zoom KAo vs 88 unknown.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2NL Zoom KAo vs 88 unknown.

    Sorry, this hand was deleted by its owner
    Should I have 3bet preflop? Calling seemed like the safer option considering he acted like he had QQ+ or AK and I could of gotten away cheaply if the flop missed me.

  • #2
    When villains 3-bet my UTG open, I usually give them a lot of respect, to the extent that I'd often fold AK in this situation.
    However, it really depends on reads. If villain is a decent TAG/nit, I'd fold. He's never 3-betting with worse, and you're in terrible shape against AA/KK. If he's more a lag or maniac, I'm happy to stack off pre, especially at 2NL, where villains don't understand position so well, as they'll 3-bet AQ or worse.
    In this hand, villain's 3-bet is quite large, so I'd be expecting aces or kings pretty often.
    Calling is sort of OK here, as you have position, but a fold or a 4-bet would probably be better, as you'll miss most flops and have to fold to c-bets pretty often. As you happened to flop TPTK in a 3-bet pot, stacking off is absolutely standard.
    Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      Hi Guy,

      The villain here is 3-betting you... your options are to 4b, call, or fold. And yes fold is a valid option. Without any read on the opponent I think this line looks very strong. We have raised UTG, and he's 3-betting from out of position when he could have opted to simply call and see the flop for more. Not only that, but this is a huge bet sizing by the villain making it 15x. You yourself thought his range was QQ+ and AK... well it's ok to fold AK vs. this range as your hand plays terribly against it. If you miss you'll fold to a c-bet. If you hit, you'll only get action when tied or beat and are unlikely to get action if you've taken the lead. It's not a good situation.

      With reads this might be a call or a 4b, but in some cases and without them I think it's actually ok to just fold here.
      Head Live Trainer
      Check out my Videos

      4 Time Bracelet Winner



      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.