PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2NL 6 max KKCO vs SB vs BB

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2NL 6 max KKCO vs SB vs BB

    No reads first hand against opponent Could this situation have been avoided ? or What can I actually do in situations like these ?

  • #2
    Hi Animosama.

    Yep, you can ALWAYS avoid a situation where you stack off completely with a 100BB stack. The real question is can you do it and play WELL in a spot like this?

    I don't think so...

    Your raise on the BTN when it folded to you was fine of course. KK is the 2nd nut hand pre flop, and if you aren't going to raise that for value when you have no clue (because of your lack of reads) that a trickier line might be better what are you going to raise?

    When the SB 3bets, he can easily think you are on a steal and be trying to bet you off your hand.

    When the BB calls the 3bet, he can think the SB was just trying to steal, and figures that you may well fold position to him because you made a lite raise. This is why I like your 4bet in that spot with the 2nd nut hand.

    Your sizing choice for your 4bet was a good one, you made it 54c to go over a 3bet to 16c and a call, and again trying a trickier line without info on the opponents could easily have just cost you value.

    That 4bet sizing though put you over 25% into the pot, so when the SB jams into your 2nd nut hand, he probably has a pretty strong hand, but you still hold the 2nd nut. Folding would have been pretty "meh" in the face of no specific info that the opp might ONLY jam AA in this spot. There are simply so many hands he MIGHT elect to jam here that the fact there is 1 hand that has you crushed, and that he could be jamming that hand, is not a good reason to fold off over 25% of your stack in my opinion.

    So I think you COULD have folded here Animosama, but that would have been a pretty BAD decision. You played this one just fine and got unlucky.

    Hope it helps.

    -JDean
    Last edited by JDean; Sun May 27, 2012, 11:57 PM.
    Double Bracelet Winner

    Comment

    Working...
    X

    X Cookies Information

    We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.