PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Me sharking a shark

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Me sharking a shark

    PokerStars Hand #74217864782:
    Hold'em No Limit ($0.01/$0.02 USD) - 2012/01/21 11:11:17 UTC [2012/01/21 6:11:17 ET]Table 'Edmee III' 9-max Seat #3 is the buttonSeat 1: holdemace486 ($2.85 in chips)
    Seat 3: sir1535 ($4.30 in chips)
    Seat 4: TGKJumper ($2.30 in chips)
    Seat 5: moiseev1975 ($0.80 in chips)
    Seat 6: sspectator2 ($1.97 in chips)
    Seat 9: cfyz73 ($0.43 in chips)
    TGKJumper: posts small blind $0.01
    moiseev1975: posts big blind $0.02end82:
    sits out H3RTHA: sits out pesmersedes: sits out
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to holdemace486 [4s 2s]
    sspectator2: folds
    cfyz73: calls $0.02
    holdemace486: calls $0.02
    sir1535: folds
    TGKJumper: raises $0.06 to $0.08
    moiseev1975: folds
    cfyz73: calls $0.06
    holdemace486: calls $0.06*
    ** FLOP *** [2d Kh 2c]
    TGKJumper: bets $0.18
    cfyz73: folds
    holdemace486: raises $0.26 to $0.44
    TGKJumper: raises $0.56 to $1
    holdemace486: raises $0.56 to $1.56T
    GKJumper: raises $0.66 to $2.22 and is all-in
    holdemace486: calls $0.66
    *** TURN *** [2d Kh 2c] [9h]
    *** RIVER *** [2d Kh 2c 9h] [7s]
    *** SHOW DOWN ***T
    GKJumper: shows [Ah As] (two pair, Aces and Deuces)
    holdemace486: shows [4s 2s] (three of a kind, Deuces)holdemace486 collected $4.47 from pot***

    SUMMARY ***Total pot $4.70 | Rake $0.23 Board [2d Kh 2c 9h 7s]Seat 1: holdemace486 showed [4s 2s] and won ($4.47) with three of a kind, DeucesSeat 3: sir1535 (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)Seat 4: TGKJumper (small blind) showed [Ah As] and lost with two pair, Aces and DeucesSeat 5: moiseev1975 (big blind) folded before FlopSeat 6: sspectator2 folded before Flop (didn't bet)Seat 9: cfyz73 folded on the Flop

    Hi all have tidyed it up for you the best i can see for analasys.
    heres the situation i all ready determined my opp is a multiplayer shark,and he was only playing premium hands,i knew i had posistion on him and a gut feeling he had the aces,or maybe kk,but more likely the aces in my eyes,the flop comes 2k2,yes i was confident i could take his chips.
    he bets out 18c i reraise to 44c
    the op then reraises to 1 doller
    at this stage i paused
    i looked at his bet size and though to myself he knows i was playing quite tag
    and thought he had put me on something like kq,ak
    so i then opted for another reraise 1.56 as i put him on defo aa and not kk
    i thought surely he would of shipped if he had the house to my first raise
    he then raises all in
    got him

    was this the way to play it?
    should i have been more caucious?
    should i have folded my set?
    should i be mixing 42s against aces?

    thx look forward to some good thoughts.

  • #2
    tell a lie just checked his rankings woops not really much of a shark,but he was multiplaying about 15 tables lol another lesson learnt but he still was only playing premium hnds

    Comment


    • #3
      Hello HEA486!

      You are becoming quite a reg in this forum, and I for one like that! Thanks!

      I must say HEA486, even though you are on the button here, this is not really a good spot to speculate with 24s...

      Whenever you enter with a hand like 42s, especially against a TIGHT PLAYER, you really cannot be relying on your pair value; 4 hi will almost never hit top pair on a flop, and if it does you are far too likely to be facing an over pair. You will only flop 2 pair+ about 5.0% of the time total (using both your cards, as opposed to pairing a 4 and seeing 33 on the flop), so the most likely continuable flop you'll see with a hand like 42s is some sort of DRAW.

      The fact is, a case CAN be made for taking this flop heads up versus just the tight player's range with a speculative drawing type hand (although personally I'd stick to 65s+) versus his raise, but the presence of the SHORT STACK caller ahead of you saps any real playability of a draw flop for you. Against just the raiser, the fact he is tight may mean you can either win a very large pot if a draw gets there, or possibly semi bluff a strong draw from position and not even have to get there (if/when he misses his Ace/Big hands). That short stack though is far too likely to make a "stand" with any top pair type hit in a pot that has grown to half his stack (roughly) pre flop. If you see a bet by the raiser, and a jam by the short stack, ANY draw you may have flopped with 42s becomes quite dice-y to play.

      So bottom line as I see it, is that you really should be looking at ALL the stacks who have stayed to see the flop, not just 1 of them.

      AS PLAYED...

      You got pretty lucky to flop 1 of those "5% hands", and bink trip 2's with a K.

      When TGKJumper leads for 18c (about 75% pot), your raise is fine. You make it a bit under 1.5 times more than his raise to call.

      While KK is in this players range per your info, it is really quite un-likely that a better 2 is there. This means you'd have been totally going against the reasoning behind playing 24s at all if you do not think you are raising for value now. I quite like the fact you stayed at the low end of a standard re-raise amount here, as that may keep some of the hands like QQ/JJ in his range from insta-folding, whereas he'd have to credit you with at least a K if you bet larger. Nice job.

      When the villain 3bets, I do not mind your small 4bet...at that point it is moot for you really: whether you flat, you raise small, or you go all in, you are never folding (at least I hope you are never folding ), and the villain is probably never folding either.

      So except for the thoughts I brought up about the questionable situation in calling pre flop on this hand HEA486, I think you played it fine.

      Hope it helps.

      -JDean
      Last edited by JDean; Sat Jan 21, 2012, 02:59 PM.
      Double Bracelet Winner

      Comment


      • #4
        thats pretty much how it was jd ,yes was never going to fold once ive flopped,preflop yes i did forget the other player must stop doing that,thx again great analysis

        Comment


        • #5
          Uploading videos make it more easy type /replayer on the website umbup: go to pokerschoolonline.com/replayer and copy paste the info in the replayer instead easy fast and more convenient

          Comment

          Working...
          X

          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.