PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2nd hand disaster

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2nd hand disaster

    PokerStars Hand #74163844647: Hold'em No Limit ($0.01/$0.02 USD) - 2012/01/20 12:28:49 UTC [2012/01/20 7:28:49 ET]Table 'Notburga II' 9-max Seat #1 is the buttonSeat 1: holdemace486 ($0.77 in chips) Seat 3: misak2012 ($1.19 in chips) Seat 4: Belan666 ($5.80 in chips) Seat 5: Chinga4kuk ($3.97 in chips) Seat 6: zupekk ($2 in chips) Seat 7: T6nts ($2.05 in chips) Seat 8: Telkes ($2 in chips) Seat 9: taipi675711 ($0.84 in chips) misak2012: posts small blind $0.01Belan666: posts big blind $0.02*** HOLE CARDS ***Dealt to holdemace486 [Qc Th]meister72er leaves the tableChinga4kuk: folds zupekk: folds T6nts: raises $0.04 to $0.06Karenkarapet joins the table at seat #2 Telkes: folds taipi675711: folds holdemace486: calls $0.06misak2012: calls $0.05Belan666: calls $0.04*** FLOP *** [4d 3c 4s]misak2012: checks Belan666: checks T6nts: checks holdemace486: checks *** TURN *** [4d 3c 4s] [Tc]misak2012: bets $0.02Belan666: calls $0.02T6nts: folds holdemace486: raises $0.11 to $0.13misak2012: calls $0.11Belan666: folds *** RIVER *** [4d 3c 4s Tc] [Qs]misak2012: bets $0.10holdemace486: calls $0.10*** SHOW DOWN ***misak2012: shows [4h Kd] (three of a kind, Fours)holdemace486: shows [Qc Th] (two pair, Queens and Tens)misak2012 collected $0.69 from pot*** SUMMARY ***Total pot $0.72 | Rake $0.03 Board [4d 3c 4s Tc Qs]Seat 1: holdemace486 (button) showed [Qc Th] and lost with two pair, Queens and TensSeat 3: misak2012 (small blind) showed [4h Kd] and won ($0.69) with three of a kind, FoursSeat 4: Belan666 (big blind) folded on the TurnSeat 5: Chinga4kuk folded before Flop (didn't bet)Seat 6: zupekk folded before Flop (didn't bet)Seat 7: T6nts folded on the TurnSeat 8: Telkes folded before Flop (didn't bet)Seat 9: taipi675711 folded before Flop (didn't bet)

    GRRR COME ON IS THIS FOR REAL

  • #2
    I'm sorry to say it Hold'em ace but you got your self in trouble here.

    QTo on the button fine if its folded around to you, raise and hope to take the blinds. I might even play it if I calling station calls in front of me.

    However this is a raised pot and we are in too bad a spot for QT to play well after the flop hits.

    After all what is a good flop for us, QT4 rainbow? this might be our best possible flop if even then we need to be awair that the villian may need a J or K to make a straight.

    what if the flop comes AT9 we hit a pair and have an ok kicker but we are dead to the A.

    I think this is a throw it away preflop and wait for a better spot situation.


    Grade b
    I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught. ~Winston Churchill

    13 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      cheers b i know i played both hands rubbishly silly stupidity mistake

      Comment


      • #4
        We all do/ did too

        thats why review is such an important part of playing good poker.

        Grade b
        I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught. ~Winston Churchill

        13 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          PokerStars Hand #74163844647: Hold'em No Limit ($0.01/$0.02 USD) - 2012/01/20 12:28:49 UTC [2012/01/20 7:28:49 ET]
          Table 'Notburga II' 9-max
          Seat #1 is the button
          Seat 1: holdemace486 ($0.77 in chips)
          Seat 3: misak2012 ($1.19 in chips)
          Seat 4: Belan666 ($5.80 in chips)
          Seat 5: Chinga4kuk ($3.97 in chips)
          Seat 6: zupekk ($2 in chips)
          Seat 7: T6nts ($2.05 in chips)
          Seat 8: Telkes ($2 in chips)
          Seat 9: taipi675711 ($0.84 in chips)
          misak2012: posts small blind $0.01
          Belan666: posts big blind $0.02
          *** HOLE CARDS ***
          Dealt to holdemace486 [Qc Th]
          meister72er leaves the table
          Chinga4kuk: folds
          zupekk: folds
          T6nts: raises $0.04 to $0.06
          Karenkarapet joins the table at seat #2
          Telkes: folds
          taipi675711: folds
          holdemace486: calls $0.06
          misak2012: calls $0.05
          Belan666: calls $0.04
          *** FLOP *** [4d 3c 4s]
          misak2012: checks
          Belan666: checks
          T6nts: checks
          holdemace486: checks
          *** TURN *** [4d 3c 4s] [Tc]
          misak2012: bets $0.02
          Belan666: calls $0.02
          T6nts: folds
          holdemace486: raises $0.11 to $0.13
          misak2012: calls $0.11
          Belan666: folds
          *** RIVER *** [4d 3c 4s Tc] [Qs]
          misak2012: bets $0.10
          holdemace486: calls $0.10
          *** SHOW DOWN ***
          misak2012: shows [4h Kd] (three of a kind, Fours)
          holdemace486: shows [Qc Th] (two pair, Queens and Tens
          )misak2012 collected $0.69 from pot
          *** SUMMARY ***
          Total pot $0.72 | Rake $0.03 Board [4d 3c 4s Tc Qs]
          Seat 1: holdemace486 (button) showed [Qc Th] and lost with two pair, Queens and Tens
          Seat 3: misak2012 (small blind) showed [4h Kd] and won ($0.69) with three of a kind, Fours
          Seat 4: Belan666 (big blind) folded on the Turn
          Seat 5: Chinga4kuk folded before Flop (didn't bet)
          Seat 6: zupekk folded before Flop (didn't bet)
          Seat 7: T6nts folded on the Turn
          Seat 8: Telkes folded before Flop (didn't bet)
          Seat 9: taipi675711 folded before Flop (didn't bet)



          Hello again HEA486!

          Actually, in this hand about the only mistake I can point to is POSSIBLY calling the raise with QTo here, but without info on the opponent this could have been perfectly fine too. So it is really hard to label it a "mistake" WITHOUT info in my opinion...

          You started to aggressively move at this pot when you had a good chance of holding the best hand; when the T turned, you raised to 13c over a min bettor and a caller.

          I like this sizing actually, but only if you intend to lead the river if you are not raised.

          The 13c you made it to go is less than half pot, so it really does not give you the necessary definition you'd need to consider check/folding the river. The thing I like about it is that it also does not stick you overly much to the pot in CASE you are raised large, and it also leaves room for people with lesser hands (draws, pp 99 thru 55, 3's) to still call, thus adding value for you.

          You could have also raised bigger, making it around 20c to 30c to go here, and had ample clue that you are beat if you are called or raised, making a fold on the turn, or a check/fold on the river possible. I really do prefer your sizing though, as it will tend to keep lesser hands in than your T more often, and also does not open you to someone who might BLUFF the 4 and make you fold. Nice bet.

          The river puts up the Q to give you top 2 pair. The villain leads for 10c into a 52c pot. It is far too likely this guy backed into that river Q for you to fold. You have no worries about kickers here if he stuck it out with something like KQ/AQ, so needing only a 16% chance of being "right" to make a call break even, I make this call all day long on top 2; if he has a 4 all along, so be it.

          You see HEA486, there ARE times like this when you are "destined" to lose SOME amount in the hand when you hit, and the opponent hits better. Sometimes the best you can do is work to make that loss as small as possible when there is every reason to think you might be ahead. It seems to me you did that here VERY WELL.

          Had you bet small on the turn hit of your T, then FOLDED to the small river bet when you make top 2, THAT would have been a "mistake" in my opinion. Taking that line totally negates the "worth" of betting your T; you could have flatted the 2c and and folded to a bet on the river far cheaper than you did by making your raise, right?

          Of course had you done THAT, you'd have been playing far too passively, since a good part of the time you ARE ahead when that T turns...

          You had enough reason to put money in this pot on the turn, and you controlled the amount you put in very well. It strikes me that you lost about the MINIMUM you can realistically expect to lose here, and sometimes that is a "victory" in and of itself.

          It was your opponent who made the "mistake" in calling a pre flop raise with a very weak hand, then not extracting MORE VALUE from the chance he took...not you.

          Good hand!

          Hope it helps.

          -JDean
          Last edited by JDean; Fri Jan 20, 2012, 08:08 PM.
          Double Bracelet Winner

          Comment

          Working...
          X

          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.