PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Catching the 3outer after calling 2all ins with a flush draw...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Catching the 3outer after calling 2all ins with a flush draw...

    I believe I did the right thing shoving over here right guys? The guy who won the hand was very loose so was v v v unlucky to lose this one... to a str flush... Etienne

  • #2
    he had to call 3.70 to win a pot of 10.40 or 2.8/1 pot odds
    he has 11 outs here (he would assume 12) any 6 (4outs), any spade minus the 6 (for 8 more)
    using a very simple in game rule of thumb (the 2,4 rule) he can (and so can you) roughly calculate his % chance of hitting by the river.
    just multiply your outs times 4 with two cards to come and by 2 with 1 card to come. so he had a roughly 48% chance to catch a winner getting 2.8/1 on his call.
    May the tinfoil protect you. MT

    Comment


    • #3
      just one of those ..........
      you know you're going broke and can do nothing about it, imo

      next hand
      17 Time Bracelet Winner

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by etipac View Post
        I believe I did the right thing shoving over here right guys? The guy who won the hand was very loose so was v v v unlucky to lose this one... to a str flush... Etienne
        Hi again Etipac! Yes, I believe your shove when you flopped the set was the right move if there were at least a couple of hands that are worse within the call range of the opponent's here, and there certainly are most of the time. Worst case for you is a higher set, but the time to sweat those 2 hands was before you decided to set mine. You only have 1 out versus those hands, and if you live in fear of those "monsters under the bed" you should never set mine. With the possibility of a possible 17.5 to 1+ pay off in implied odds versus just the effective stack, and having about an 1 in 9 chance to spike a set, I don't mind set mining for 15c more with a flat of this raise on this depth of money at all. Next worst are the 2 specific straight hands; 69/64. Neither of these are highly likely given the pre flop action, and you have at least 30.1% equity versus those 2 hands if there are still here after the pre flop raise. Next worse for you would be 76s spades, and vs. that you have about 53.5% equity. Every thing else is worse... this board is coordinated enough that a lot of draws may find reason to stack off, and SPR going into the flop is low enough to have plenty of over pair hands are ready to do so too. Only 4 of all those hands are ahead of you, and 2 shouldn't really be there to see the flop after the raise(s)... Seems like a good spot to jam right away to me! Bad luck happens though... Hope it helps. -JDean
        Last edited by JDean; Tue Jan 17, 2012, 05:43 PM.
        Double Bracelet Winner

        Comment


        • #5
          Hi Etienne,

          I like getting it in on the flop just fine here. Your equity vs. their ranges should be plenty good on such a wet board.

          The only guy that misplayed his hand imo is the AA. You and the 97s were fine.

          Dave
          Head Live Trainer
          Check out my Videos

          4 Time Bracelet Winner



          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by TheLangolier View Post
            Hi Etienne, I like getting it in on the flop just fine here. Your equity vs. their ranges should be plenty good on such a wet board. The only guy that misplayed his hand imo is the AA. You and the 97s were fine. Dave
            umbup:
            May the tinfoil protect you. MT

            Comment


            • #7
              Reraise

              I think the guy with the AA had to reraise in order not to let others enter the pot right? and value his hand..

              Etienne

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by etipac View Post
                I think the guy with the AA had to reraise in order not to let others enter the pot right? and value his hand..

                Etienne
                Yes Etipac,

                He should have raised to prevent exactly hands like yours, set mining hands, from staying around cheaply enough to get there on him. The problem is his raise was too low to do that.

                You had limped your 55 to set mine. 2 people called behind you.

                The AA raiser should not have raised making it 20c to go, he should have raised more on the order of AT LEAST 36c, and given the effective stack size between the AA and all the limpers, I'd favor making it at least 40c to 50c in order to allow easy commitment on any flop by my AA.
                Last edited by JDean; Wed Jan 18, 2012, 04:37 PM.
                Double Bracelet Winner

                Comment


                • #9
                  You have done nothing wrong, you could fold or limp the 55.
                  You made a correct decision going allin on the flop, your other decision would be to fold, here is why:
                  You bet and get raised and then got flat called. It would really depend on my read because the guy who won the hand eventually could easily have trips also. you merely have bottom set. Think of that next time.

                  The mistakes have been made by the guy with the AA.
                  Furthermore I wish you best luck

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X

                  X Cookies Information

                  We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.