PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Interesting hand, correct play or not?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Interesting hand, correct play or not?

    An odd hand, just wanted to get some advice as to whether I should have played it as I did on such a wet board. Unlucky on the river maybe? Interestingly enough all this happened after taking this screenshot:
    Attached Files

  • #2
    I like the lead bet on the flop. You hit bottom set, so make a value bet and see where you're at in the hand.
    When the opp calls it, they either hit a part of the board or have a straight or flush draw.

    The turn could complete BOTH draws. That's a big problem because you're going to now be up against a larger set, straight or flush, or best case 2 pair. The only one you can beat is 2 pair, so I'm shutting down on the turn with betting. Check and if they make a very small bet, then possibly call, but to any decent sized bet, I'm mucking it.

    The river pairs the board, so now we look at the opp's range and have quads, larger full house, straight or flush. We're actually better off here than we were on the turn... as we beat both a straight AND flush. I liked your lead bet here, but when the opp makes that big of a raise, they've probably got the larger full house, or even quads and I'm mucking. Probably the only hand that an opp will do this with that you beat is an A high flush... and they really should just call your value bet, not re-raise you.
    Super-Moderator



    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      Yeah, I agree.

      I had him on a flush draw with Ace something and so when the 9 came on the river I figured it couldnt be A9s

      I figured he could have opened with 7s but would have raised on the flop.

      Another reason for my call was that he didnt put me all-in, despite having me covered. Good job I didnt raise

      Comment


      • #4
        when a player doesn't put you all-in like that, more often than not, that's a sign of strength and is a value bet... not weakness.
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          Noted, thank you for the analysis.

          Comment

          Working...
          X

          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.