PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Good Books on Poker

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good Books on Poker

Hello Everyone,

I'm looking for some good books on poker, both on the theory behind it and maybe 1 or 2 on the probabilities. I just picked up "The Theory of Poker" by David Sklansky. I'm looking for a couple (or much more) positions to read.

Might I add that I am a complete beginner and this is my first forum post

Thank you,
    Julius "Jayce333"

I only have 2 poker books so far - I would recommend both, not highly, but they are both fine and will not lead you astray so long as you know your level.

The first one I ever bought (from a charity shop for 2 quid) was

'Winning at Poker - essential hints and tips by Dave Scharf 2003

It is targeted at Low Limit Hold Em - but as a starting point I found it very useful for hand strengths, odds & outs etc. It is fairly simplistic and easy to read - I found it a good starting point but as I rarely play limit hold em I don't go back to it often.

More recently I got Doyle Brunsons Super System 2 - which has contributions from many good players and covers more poker formats with a lot on NLHE - however the NLHE stuff is advanced and more applicable to higher stakes than I play. The Mike Caro stuff is particularly good, perhaps because it has simple rules that are understandable, memorable and seem to work in practice.

Basically I would get hold of any books you can and then glean whatever you can from them, but also remember there is a massive library of poker training here at PSO, and Live Training and the Education Forums are great places to learn.

Good luck

Ed from Edinburgh - EdinFreeMan