PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bad Beat, Serious Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Bad Beat, Serious Question

    The player in the big blind is a "horrible fish." My read on him was that he would call off his whole stack in any situation with ace rag (even if he is second in chips). That is how he ended up second in chips. I would normally just do a standard raise here, but because of my read I shove thinking that it would be great to get my opponent in with only two or three outs. I've run somewhat bad the past two days and this hand was no exception. Based on my read, did I play this well? If I make a standard raise and he calls I might get away post-flop, but I think that he three-bets and I have the same result anyway. Bad beat or bad play? Both? As soon as I called this three-bet I heard the langolier saying playing a three-bet pot out of position is pretty bad. I considered shoving, by tycornel is a regular and I know that if he calls my four-bet the best I can hope to see is ace king. I think his three-betting range this early in the tournament is very tight, ace king, aces, kings, queens, jacks and maybe tens. Watching the hand now I think I could have folded pre-flop, but in the moment it can be so difficult to press that button.

  • #2
    My bad, with the jacks I was in postition.

    Comment


    • #3
      the first one... can't really argue against either a push or a std raise. The majority of the time with your stack, I'd std raise, then c-bet, but fold to a raise with an A on the board. If I was down to 15BB or less, instead of 21BB, then it's an auto-push for me.
      You can really make a very solid case for either play.

      In the JJ hand, you DO have position on the opp (they act first). With it being that early in a tourney, a solid player probably has an even tighter range that what you listed, due to how much they raised (more than std 3-bet). For that large of a 3-bet, I'd put them on QQ+. I'd have mucked it pre and waited for a better situation, especially if you know the opp to be a better player.
      Looking back on it, you reasoned things out correctly.
      It's a good hand for you to learn from (which you did, as you stated, when you reviewed it)... keep doing that and apply what you learn... and you'll see better and better results happen, since making the correct plays over and over is what makes that happen consistantly.
      Super-Moderator



      6 Time Bracelet Winner


      Comment


      • #4
        With the help of live training, the forums and spacegravy's videos I have improved my game a lot, but there is so much to learn (and then apply).

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by hamburglarid View Post
          but there is so much to learn (and then apply).
          even with all the cards I've played over the years... I find and learn something every single day... just keep it up and keep learning
          Super-Moderator



          6 Time Bracelet Winner


          Comment


          • #6
            You were probably ahead.

            Comment

            Working...
            X

            X Cookies Information

            We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.