PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Whats he doing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Whats he doing

    I played this wrong but what the hell is he doing. He must have known he was beat. There was about 2450 left i wanted to shove but i thought if i dont hit i could hang in a few more minutes and mabee gain some extra points.

  • #2
    Originally posted by m.bisland View Post
    I played this wrong but what the hell is he doing. He must have known he was beat. There was about 2450 left i wanted to shove but i thought if i dont hit i could hang in a few more minutes and mabee gain some extra points.
    Who know's what he is thinking? Maybe he is totally oblivious to the fact losing 3/4ths of his stack is a bad thing? Maybe he thinks the guy who is all in after you is bluffing, and the side pot is worth the risk? Maybe he hasn't got a clue how to judge the odds of hitting runners or a 2 outer, so doesn't know how to wiegh his risk/reward? Maybe he doesn't notice anything except "hey, I can call this and still have chips!"? Maybe, Maybe, Maybe... All that does not really matter for you after he sucks out, and knocks you out, but asking it now can lead you to possible look for other info that supports one of these possible thought lines in your future games. If you can see other info which backs up the reason WHY a mistake is made, you can then start to configure ways to exploit those mistakes. I'd ask you in return: If you assume each of those "maybe's" I put up were true, how would you adjust YOUR play to exploit those "mistakes" in thinking?
    Double Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      You really needed to shove preflop. Or all but one chip if you're trying to waste time. The minraise over a limper with AQ is just not right. Obviously "shove" when you hit the flop like that.

      The guy with the 10s is probably thinking that he has a pair of 10s.
      4 Time Bracelet Winner


      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by JDean View Post
        Who know's what he is thinking?

        Maybe he is totally oblivious to the fact losing 3/4ths of his stack is a bad thing?
        Maybe he thinks the guy who is all in after you is bluffing, and the side pot is worth the risk?
        Maybe he hasn't got a clue how to judge the odds of hitting runners or a 2 outer, so doesn't know how to wiegh his risk/reward?
        Maybe he doesn't notice anything except "hey, I can call this and still have chips!"?
        Maybe, Maybe, Maybe...

        All that does not really matter for you after he sucks out, and knocks you out, but asking it now can lead you to possible look for other info that supports one of these possible thought lines in your future games. If you can see other info which backs up the reason WHY a mistake is made, you can then start to configure ways to exploit those mistakes.

        I'd ask you in return:

        If you assume each of those "maybe's" I put up were true, how would you adjust YOUR play to exploit those "mistakes" in thinking?

        Next time im all in

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by m.bisland View Post
          Next time im all in
          EXACTLY...

          when you are that short, and you hold a hand that has a reasonable chance to be best, why do you want to complicate your decisions?

          Just go all in pre, or FOLD if ladder climbing is such an important consideration. Your 5BB stack simply does not have enough in it to even consider a limp and look play in a ladder climb situation.

          After that decision is made, it is all down to luck.
          Last edited by JDean; Thu Oct 20, 2011, 01:57 AM.
          Double Bracelet Winner

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by JDean View Post
            EXACTLY... when you are that short, and you hold a hand that has a reasonable chance to be best, why do you want to complicate your decisions? Just go all in pre, or FOLD if ladder climbing is such an important consideration. Your 5BB stack simply does not have enough in it to even consider a limp and look play in a ladder climb situation. After that decision is made, it is all down to luck.
            Thanks for the input i know what to do next time. umbup:umbup:umbup:umbup:

            Comment


            • #7
              Whats he doing

              Rule of thumb, if a call/raise has you commiting at least 1/3 of your stack, might as well go all in from the get go (this way perhaps the button might've folded.)


              The guy to your left had no business playing that weak ace, that should've been an instafold on his part. The guy on the button, re-raised putting the BB all-in, either way, the BB should've shoved preflop. From the play it seemed like the guy on the button was making a play to isolate short stack (BB) perhaps hoping his re-raise causes the other players in pot to fold, but wasn't the case.

              On the flop I would've shoved first, maybe just maybe you might have the button fold to you, but seems like the guy was taking a chance with a 60% flush/60%straight (there's some Laakism for ya lol) including spiking his two outters, since there was a bunch of chips in the pot. He lucked out and hit, sucks for you, but I'm willing to bet that plays like that are short lived.

              Overall 10BB put you at that stage where you shove first, thus leading you to isolate the BB and a showdown.

              Comment

              Working...
              X

              X Cookies Information

              We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.