PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

JJ's raised all in by SB in early phase of tourney

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • JJ's raised all in by SB in early phase of tourney

    Hello , Terrible play by me here , thinking the SB had a big Ace that wanted to get heads up with a tilted short stack . I know I should have just folded , misreading the SB shove as desperate to get heads up with 2 big cards . My own table image I suppose , at this stage of the tourney is tight . I did not consider that the shove ought to be mindful of my hand strength and therefore , prepared to play all in against it with only their own most premium holdings . At this stage of the tourney I had no need to be this active , I think the amount of micro stake tourneys I have enjoyed recently (10c facebook , 10c $50 added & 55c $500 added plus a couple of $1.10 buy ins) and the plays I have endured - 'AKos' 12BB short stack beaten all in by K6s and 'AJs' 12BB short stack beaten all in by KTos , lead me to think this play from my opponent may be wrong . 3 Days ago I would have folded this hand - I have played alot with mixed results recently . I should have taken the shove more seriously .... please advise . JARGON1977

  • #2
    No, you should not necessarily have just folded...

    You gotta know WHY you should fold to make that a reasonable, and prefered, option.

    In this spot, JJ is rarely better than a race; since most likely only big cards jam, and the number of lesser pp that will jam is slight.
    You have over 100BB in your stack after raising to open.
    When you are this deep, you really do NOT want to court races for all your chips; this is so because that stack is deep enough to carry you to other BETTER spots than a mere race.

    THAT is "why" you should have folded.

    BUT...

    If this big stack was liable to make a squeeze attempt lightly, for instance had he moved all his chips in on a couple of WEAK hands and lucked out, then the advantage from a deep stack double up here may have been WORTH the risk of possibly facing a race (or even possibly being dominated) for the chance to hold a hand which stands to be far better than a very loose shove range by that big stack.

    So yes, there ARE reasons for you to have made a call here, and as long as you knew those reasons then whether or not a very loose range happens to wake up with AA really doesn't matter; the decision to call would still be a good one.

    but if you did NOT have info that would lead you to think that most of the jam range by the big stack consisted of hands which stood to be WORSE than a straight up race for you, then you need to fall back on the info you do have: your stack is too deep to want to race off at this point.
    Double Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      I know it , I know it .

      I have played alot of MTT's the last few days and I think my bearings may have blurred a little , where I thought a play was a good shout - without simply recognising my stack is 'GREAT' and , there is a lot of tourney still to be played .

      Disappointed with myself . Thanks Jdean , I needed to hear that .

      JARGON1977
      Last edited by JARGON1977; Fri Oct 07, 2011, 09:04 PM.

      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.