PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I play this any differently?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Can I play this any differently?

    I mean is there any chance to play this differently?

    PokerStars Game #68577784044: Hold'em No Limit ($0.01/$0.02 USD) - 2011/10/06 22:11:30 CET [2011/10/06 16:11:30 ET]
    Table 'Chacornac IV' 6-max Seat #4 is the button
    Seat 1: ChapIChaps ($2.49 in chips)
    Seat 2: BlackKeima ($2.17 in chips)
    Seat 3: dabar500 ($1.17 in chips)
    Seat 4: Schnech ($1.90 in chips)
    Seat 5: FFM sour ($4.96 in chips)
    Seat 6: R. Breaker ($6.62 in chips)
    FFM sour: posts small blind $0.01
    R. Breaker: posts big blind $0.02
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to Schnech [2h Ah]
    ChapIChaps: folds
    BlackKeima: folds
    dabar500: folds
    Schnech: raises $0.04 to $0.06
    FFM sour: folds
    R. Breaker: calls $0.04
    *** FLOP *** [Jh 9h 5h]
    R. Breaker: bets $0.10
    Schnech: calls $0.10
    *** TURN *** [Jh 9h 5h] [8h]
    R. Breaker: bets $0.30
    Schnech: calls $0.30
    *** RIVER *** [Jh 9h 5h 8h] [Kh]
    R. Breaker: bets $0.70
    Schnech: raises $0.74 to $1.44 and is all-in
    R. Breaker: calls $0.74
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    Schnech: shows [2h Ah] (a flush, Ace high)
    R. Breaker: shows [Th Qh] (a straight flush, Nine to King)
    R. Breaker collected $3.63 from pot
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot $3.81 | Rake $0.18
    Board [Jh 9h 5h 8h Kh]
    Seat 1: ChapIChaps folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 2: BlackKeima folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 3: dabar500 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 4: Schnech (button) showed [2h Ah] and lost with a flush, Ace high
    Seat 5: FFM sour (small blind) folded before Flop
    Seat 6: R. Breaker (big blind) showed [Th Qh] and won ($3.63) with a straight flush, Nine to King

  • #2
    No. Well yes...you could have taken the lead in betting earlier, and lost your whole stack anyway...

    You were trying a deceptive line, but with the villain leading for what a straightforward bet amount by you likely would have been, there is nothing wrong with this. Had YOU held the betting lead, and attempted to keep the pot smaller, and he called to keep the pot smaller, then there is a chance you MIGHT get away from your hand to the "threat" of the possible straight flush. that is a pretty forelorn hope with the nut flush onan un-paired board though.

    But when you flop the NUT FLUSH, there is nothing wrong at all with NOT re-raising immeditely, following the deceptive line, especially at micro stakes where opponents will pay you off without a great deal of deception. Let him keep betting amounts you would until the river, then move in when a large bet is more reasonable in a bloated pot.

    The stack sizes here do not really contain the depth of money to warrant a FOLD of the A hi flush, even if you HAD suspected he held the str flush, as by that time the pot size in relation to a call for the rest of the villain;s stack would probably be too tight for you, unless you had strong reaosn to believe he does have the STR FLUSH (such as him being so tight, he'd only bet/raise the nuts).

    This is just an example of why the most expensive hand in poker is a good, but 2nd best hand; far too often you are all but FORCED to pay off better hands in those spots.
    Last edited by JDean; Fri Oct 07, 2011, 07:14 AM.
    Double Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      Thank you for the detailed analysis J! umbup:

      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.