PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

AA Craaaaacked

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • AA Craaaaacked

    Ok here it goes: I see Aces as my hole cards and a raise from a player to 900 with the blinds 150/300. I Re-raise to 2200, trying to shut it down right there, because i dont like playing Aces and big pocket pairs, because i usually overplay them. He calls my huge 3-bet and so we are heads up to the flop. FLOP: A 2 K, 2 spades. He checks. I had a set, so i tried to trap him. Now I had the decision of giving him a free card or not. Because he called me pre-flop i excluded the 10 J hand, which was the only hand worrying me if the queen would come. I just couldn't put him on a 2 - spaded hand, because i dont know what would be worth calling a 9 BB raise. I thought he had a big pocket pair, or the big slick. So if he has any of that, i have him in custody. I decided to check. TURN: The Queen comes, and i feel bad about it. He checks, so i fire 3500 chips into pot. He puts me all in. I thought about the 10 J again, but that would be too loose play for my opinion. I was sorry that i gave him that free card, but still i couldnt believe him, i was putting him on AK, or maybe KK, or even QQ, because he got a set now and he check raised me. I called, and saw the bad news...i was out of the tournament. Why should i put him on 10 J on the flop? Giving him a free card was a major fail, but putting him on J 10 offsuit, made no sense to me. How should i act next time in this case? What should i change about my reading? Regards, HohnerBoy
    Last edited by HohnerBoy; Thu Aug 04, 2011, 09:09 PM. Reason: grammar mistakes

  • #2
    first thing... make a note that they are VERY LOOSE.

    You didn't 3-bet him preflop. You did raise, but a 3-bet would have been to 2700.
    In this situation, if the player was known to be loose, I'd have probably pushed preflop, instead of making a 2.5X raise.
    But.. if you don't push preflop, then I'm definitely jamming the flop with a set of aces.

    When you've got aces, do NOT let someone draw a free card at you. It'll burn you more than it will help.
    Super-Moderator



    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      What about my read. Would you be able to put him on 10 j?

      Regards

      Comment


      • #4
        if they're playing that loose.. they could have almost anything. Any A, especially suited, broadway connectors, etc... are well within thier range.
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          Fail to bet In my opinion giving a free card is always ALWAYS wrong on a board with at least 2 of the same suit and 2 to a straigth. even tho you have the best hand right now, it is still vulnerable. Next to that, why would you let someone take a free card since he called your preflop raise and most likely has AK or AQ and will call you bet anyway?? I would only check behind with a set if the board is rainbow and not connected at all or bet about 25 % of the pot to get some more money in, lot of players see that as a weakness and will reraise you with nothing and you can safely call and hope they catch anything. hope this helped you. umbup:

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by JWK24 View Post
            first thing... make a note that they are VERY LOOSE.

            You didn't 3-bet him preflop. You did raise, but a 3-bet would have been to 2700.
            In this situation, if the player was known to be loose, I'd have probably pushed preflop, instead of making a 2.5X raise.
            But.. if you don't push preflop, then I'm definitely jamming the flop with a set of aces.

            When you've got aces, do NOT let someone draw a free card at you. It'll burn you more than it will help.
            A 3-bet is the 3rd bet (a reraise) it has nothing to do with the size.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by Sjekkkk View Post
              A 3-bet is the 3rd bet (a reraise) it has nothing to do with the size.
              wrong/thread

              Comment

              Working...
              X

              X Cookies Information

              We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.