PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is there anything i should have done differently to prevent this bad beat

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Is there anything i should have done differently to prevent this bad beat

    PokerStars Game #64752767318: Hold'em Pot Limit ($0.10/$0.25 USD) - 2011/07/19 0:30:11 ET
    Table 'Eurydome III' 9-max Seat #1 is the button
    Seat 1: hah0l ($33.22 in chips)
    Seat 3: captain59 ($49.58 in chips)
    Seat 5: viki36 ($25 in chips)
    Seat 7: tatarin77 ($8.98 in chips)
    Seat 8: DiLorDi ($10 in chips)
    Seat 9: Samurai j877 ($40.49 in chips)
    McGuires5 will be allowed to play after the button
    captain59: posts small blind $0.10
    No postflop: is sitting out
    viki36: posts big blind $0.25
    No postflop leaves the table
    G4st0nR: sits out
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to Samurai j877 [Qc Th]
    tatarin77: folds
    DiLorDi: folds
    Samurai j877: calls $0.25
    hah0l: folds
    zeneil joins the table at seat #4
    captain59: calls $0.15
    viki36: checks
    *** FLOP *** [7c Td Qh]
    captain59: bets $0.72
    viki36: folds
    Samurai j877: calls $0.72
    *** TURN *** [7c Td Qh] [Qs]
    captain59: bets $2.09
    Samurai j877: calls $2.09
    *** RIVER *** [7c Td Qh Qs] [7h]
    captain59: bets $6.06
    Samurai j877: raises $18.18 to $24.24
    captain59: raises $22.28 to $46.52 and is all-in
    Samurai j877: calls $13.19 and is all-in
    Uncalled bet ($9.09) returned to captain59
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    captain59: shows [7d 7s] (four of a kind, Sevens)
    Samurai j877: mucks hand
    captain59 collected $79.23 from pot
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot $81.23 | Rake $2
    Board [7c Td Qh Qs 7h]
    Seat 1: hah0l (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 3: captain59 (small blind) showed [7d 7s] and won ($79.23) with four of a kind, Sevens
    Seat 5: viki36 (big blind) folded on the Flop
    Seat 7: tatarin77 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 8: DiLorDi folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 9: Samurai j877 mucked [Qc Th]

    In my analysis i thought he must have AQ and thinking he has queen to seven fullhouse wouldn't mind all in as i had a better fullhouse.But as it turns out i was wrong.Do you think i could have done anything differently.Waiting for ur suggestions..

  • #2
    The money was going in the middle almost no matter how this was played. Had you raised on the flop, you might have gotten a reraise, but it's still hard to justify laying down two pair there. You just can't put someone on quads in Hold'em, almost ever. Putting them on a flopped set is hard enough. You were doing great against their range, I'm sure.

    Generally, if it's a bad beat, don't worry about it. Beats happen, and they're pretty cancerous if you dwell on them.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by PanickyPoker View Post
      The money was going in the middle almost no matter how this was played. Had you raised on the flop, you might have gotten a reraise, but it's still hard to justify laying down two pair there. You just can't put someone on quads in Hold'em, almost ever. Putting them on a flopped set is hard enough. You were doing great against their range, I'm sure.

      Generally, if it's a bad beat, don't worry about it. Beats happen, and they're pretty cancerous if you dwell on them.
      I agree with Panicky, This is one of the worst bad beats i have ever seen, very unlucky. If you had psychic powers and knew his cards you could have prevented it though! (Man i gotta get powers like that....) Bad beat plain and simple

      Comment


      • #4
        I agree too. I'd be doing whatever I could to get the $$ in the pot. There's only 1 combination of cards that can beat you and unfortunately they had it.
        Basically anyone playing poker that has a clue is going to go broke with that hand.
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          This month with the time I used to spend playing PSO games, instead I've been playing Micro-stakes Sit n Go's and Cash Tournaments with slightly deeper stacks, and so there's much less clock-counting and more hands being played, and I've been seeing 4-of-a-kind a lot more. Five times in the last 2 days alone, twice with pots I've been involved in. Four-of-a-kind is a nasty hand to get when you're a beginner because it's common enough apparently, but still rare enough that we're not going to have seen enough of them to have seen patterns and stuff. The two times I lost to four-of-a-kinds, they were both actually all-ins before the flop, so those don't really help. But I've actually been the one to have the four-of-a-kind before, and both times they were up against full houses, which were the second-best hand. So I figure it's just a matter of time before the shoe's on the other foot. Combine that with the fact that I keep getting slow-rolled because I'm always thinking my cup is half full ( ), and maybe there's something to be learned from this hand? I don't know ... Let's see ... Preflop: Hero is CO with , 2 folds, Hero calls $0.25, 1 fold, SB calls $0.15, BB checks Flop: ($0.75) , , (3 players) SB bets $0.72, 1 fold, Hero calls $0.72 Turn: ($2.19) (2 players) SB bets $2.09, Hero calls $2.09 River: ($6.37) (2 players) SB bets $6.06, Hero raises to $24.24, SB raises to $46.52 (All-In), Hero calls $13.19 (All-In) Total pot: $81.23 | Rake: $2 So ...

          Comment


          • #6
            Hmmm ... I guess one thing that's a little unusual is that they were betting pot-sized the whole way through. They just called, and then they barrelled it on all three streets.

            Also, they didn't let up on the turn - they got called, but then didn't hesitate on the turn ... that doesn't necessarily scream 'boat', but if they just had a trip, maybe people out of position might tend to slow down a bit in that situation, even with AQ? I don't know?

            On the other hand, they flopped a set, and so often people out of position will just check and hope somebody behind them has a Q and bets out - and here they didn't do that.

            **

            Some other random thoughts - I guess they were ahead on all streets except for the turn. But on the other hand, they were behind on the turn, and drawing to one out.

            **

            I don't know ... that's all I got. I saw a wild hand on youtube the other day from a WSOP from years past - somebody made quad A's on the river, and LOST! Beat by a royal flush. Never seen that before! I don't know what made me think of that - I guess just the fact that sometimes even when you hit a great hand, you can still sometimes lose. But it's rare. But I guess just because it's rare, doesn't mean we shouldn't at least have it in our minds as a distinct possibility (albeit rare). I'd have shoved too Samurai ... like everybody said there was only one hand that you were losing to - worth the risk

            Comment


            • #7
              Lost to two quads in two hours - the really sad part is that I thought my A high was good!

              They both pre-flop raised, then did a post-flop check out of position (they flopped their quads) ... maybe in that instance, that might be an alarm bell that they're either not super happy with the flop or else super-strong? One of them I suspected might have had a trip, but not a quad - have to work on that!

              Because there's a couple of books out there that say that when the board pairs on the flop, that's oftentimes a great place to bluff in position because so often people will have missed the flop. But I guess maybe while that might be true most of the time, it's entirely possible somebody might have flopped a trip, a boat, or a quad - not likely, but entirely possible.

              Have to work on that - the one that gets me every time is the set - because with a board like 8JK, there's no overt signs I guess? And what do you do if you have 2pr and get check-raised?

              Lots of really tricky boards/hands - I guess an alternative might be to pot-control whenever there's lots of action (raises and check-raises)?

              I don't know ... just a mishmash of some random ideas ...

              Comment


              • #8
                going to the river, you're a 96% fav... If I'm in that situation, I want every chip that I can get into the pot.
                Super-Moderator



                6 Time Bracelet Winner


                Comment


                • #9
                  If you can't put it all in with the nut boat, you're playing the wrong game. I'm going broke with your hand 100% of the time there. When he shows you the quads, you say Nice Hand, Sir and rebuy. He's more likely to hold any other hand that contains a Q, or (even better) some hand that has a 7 and he's drawing to 1 out. Best advice I can offer is try not to break your mouse when you see the quads, it ends the game if you don't have a spare...

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    I think I may have spotted a bit of a tell. The villain's barrelling away, out of position, and getting called. If they had AQ, they'd have to be wondering exactly is going to be calling their monster bets. The pre-flop limp rules out AA and KK, so that only leaves a couple of options, especially after the 2nd Q hits: (kicker) (suited) By the river, any other Q is tied because the board paired again, so the kicker advantage is neutralized. TT is far behind, and they should know they can't beat anything, so they're not going to call a raise. QT and 77 are far ahead, and so there's no advantage to betting. I've heard a lot of people when they think they're tied for a pot won't bet, to minimize the rake. Hence the river bet might have been a red flag - because there was nothing to be gained by betting AQ. That being said, I'm still jamming it on the river. But my new thing, is that any time the board pairs, I'm automatically thinking trip/boat/quad as possibility. They're statistical long-shots, but if I'm going to jam the pot, I want to at least be prepared for the possibility that I might still be beat. Like sometimes it's the surprise that's more upsetting than the loss?

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      nothing you do

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X

                      X Cookies Information

                      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.