PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

AKo folded preflop. Donk move?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • AKo folded preflop. Donk move?

    I was playing in the $0.10 SnG 360man, and well I decided to fold AKo preflop. had a few callers to an allin before me, so it was a pretty tough decision. And yes, I thought it was somewhat a donkey decsion to fold it. Good decision? I'm not so sure could I have some advice?

    Hand replayed in flash: http://www.pokerhandreplays.com/view.php/id/3497480

    PokerStars Game #64336700667: Tournament #412680845, $0.09+$0.01 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level X (100/200) - 2011/07/09 23:01:12 CCT [2011/07/09 11:01:12 ET]
    Table '412680845 23' 9-max Seat #2 is the button
    Seat 1: DaKrOw (15585 in chips)
    Seat 2: dilkkz (6090 in chips)
    Seat 4: peillo455 (9825 in chips)
    Seat 5: karaken333 (1715 in chips)
    Seat 6: dezogal (1355 in chips)
    Seat 7: Velychko P. (5855 in chips)
    Seat 8: DJEK189147 (1492 in chips)
    Seat 9: Sakyk_tulpe (4280 in chips)
    DaKrOw: posts the ante 20
    dilkkz: posts the ante 20
    peillo455: posts the ante 20
    karaken333: posts the ante 20
    dezogal: posts the ante 20
    Velychko P.: posts the ante 20
    DJEK189147: posts the ante 20
    Sakyk_tulpe: posts the ante 20
    peillo455: posts small blind 100
    karaken333: posts big blind 200
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to dilkkz [Kh Ad]
    dezogal: raises 1135 to 1335 and is all-in
    Velychko P.: folds
    DJEK189147: calls 1335
    Sakyk_tulpe: folds
    DaKrOw: raises 1135 to 2470
    dilkkz: folds
    peillo455: folds
    karaken333: folds
    DJEK189147: calls 137 and is all-in
    Uncalled bet (998) returned to DaKrOw
    *** FLOP *** [Ts 4h As]
    *** TURN *** [Ts 4h As] [8s]
    *** RIVER *** [Ts 4h As 8s] [9d]
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    DJEK189147: shows [Qh Ac] (a pair of Aces)
    DaKrOw: shows [8h 6s] (a pair of Eights)
    DJEK189147 collected 274 from side pot
    dezogal: shows [7h Qd] (high card Ace)
    DJEK189147 collected 4465 from main pot
    dezogal finished the tournament in 106th place
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 4739 Main pot 4465. Side pot 274. | Rake 0
    Board [Ts 4h As 8s 9d]
    Seat 1: DaKrOw showed [8h 6s] and lost with a pair of Eights
    Seat 2: dilkkz (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 4: peillo455 (small blind) folded before Flop
    Seat 5: karaken333 (big blind) folded before Flop
    Seat 6: dezogal showed [7h Qd] and lost with high card Ace
    Seat 7: Velychko P. folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 8: DJEK189147 showed [Qh Ac] and won (4739) with a pair of Aces
    Seat 9: Sakyk_tulpe folded before Flop (didn't bet)

  • #2
    Originally posted by dilkkz View Post
    I was playing in the $0.10 SnG 360man, and well I decided to fold AKo preflop.
    Pretty sure that this is justification enough to call, the way the game plays. But do a Pokerstove calculation if you're not sure. What ranges did you put the villains on that you were scared of?

    Comment


    • #3
      Nah, not a donkey move really at all.

      Yes, you are short.
      If you had seen just an all-in, you ARE short enough now you should be calling that.

      Accounting for the "weak" play in this particular event, perhaps you should even call if you see an all-in and a CALL by these particular stack sizes.

      The 3rd all-in though, while bloating the pot, does also present additional risks that you bust out here and lose ANY chance of cashing.

      Your AK is likely to make a 1 pair hand (if it improves at all), and that type of hand plays much better in limited field pots. The more players in a pot, the greater the chance that a hand BETTER than 1 pair will come. So to me, the 3rd all-in here may not make this an EASY FOLD, when you consider these events do tend to play extremely loosely, but it is also not a snap call.

      So the bottom line is that calling or folding (for this event only!) is probably ok, based on how much "gamble" you have in you, and depending on whether you feel you can find a better spot later based on your skill level in relation to the field.

      For a $10 MTT, this is a pretty easy fold though...
      Double Bracelet Winner

      Comment


      • #4
        Easy call shove over the top in these crapshoots.........wow why fold AK?

        Comment

        Working...
        X

        X Cookies Information

        We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.