PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

is this good?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • is this good?

    http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/rep...ash=0A3C01A143
    Last edited by theemathas; Thu Jul 07, 2011, 06:18 AM. Reason: insert attachment

  • #2
    way, way, way too loose. Early in a tourney you should be playing a TON tighter. K2 off is an auto-muck from any hand other than the BB (and only see the flop from there if it's free). You do not want to be in a hand by opening the betting, by limping with absolutely nothing. Especially early in a tourney, if you wouldn't raise with the hand, then fold it.

    with being in the hand, the only way you'll find out if you're ahead or not is to make a pot-sized bet since you have top pair (and are probably outkicked by someone). If anyone calls it or raises you, it's an automatic fold to any additional bet because you will not have the best hand.
    Super-Moderator



    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      sorry wrong hand posted!!

      Comment


      • #4
        Not the K2o hand?
        Last edited by PanickyPoker; Thu Jul 07, 2011, 06:27 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          I had aces on that hand (first hand of a sng!) and I went all-in.Is that good?

          Comment


          • #6
            Generally I'd say no, but being that it's the first hand, it's likely that someone will think you're a maniac, or they'll be loose themselves, and they'll call you. Now you just have to hope they hold.

            It gets more in depth than this though. As always...it depends.

            Are you first to act? In position? Do you have any stats/notes on the players left to act?

            Again, generally, it's pretty wreckless, but depending on the buy-in, money paid and places, I can see mixing it up once in a while with a first hand shove of aces.

            Welcome to the forum and pso!

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by !!!111Dan View Post
              Generally I'd say no, but being that it's the first hand, it's likely that someone will think you're a maniac, or they'll be loose themselves, and they'll call you. Now you just have to hope they hold. It gets more in depth than this though. As always...it depends. Are you first to act? In position? Do you have any stats/notes on the players left to act? Again, generally, it's pretty wreckless, but depending on the buy-in, money paid and places, I can see mixing it up once in a while with a first hand shove of aces. Welcome to the forum and pso!
              I agree.umbup: It depends on the type of tourney and where the table is at. If multiple people are already all-in, then I'd actually consider mucking them. If you're in late position, then I'd raise and be ready to call someone else's push. The type of tourney and position and previous actions will be the key. If it's a PSO tourney with multiple in the pot, they're headed to the muck. It's not worth the risk of getting a big negative league result.
              Super-Moderator



              6 Time Bracelet Winner


              Comment


              • #8
                horrible call pre, just fold pre........

                and even so you should bet fold that turn card, why check? you dont have the greatest showdown value with K2 to be calling overbets on the river with lollll..........

                IMO bet fold the turn, and if he calls turn then chk fold the river........

                Comment

                Working...
                X

                X Cookies Information

                We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.