PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A9 all-in in BB position in a PSO tournament

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • A9 all-in in BB position in a PSO tournament

    Hi, I've started playing NL about 6 weeks ago, i.e. I am still an absolute beginner, but I want to learn. I have played the following hand in a PSO Skill League tournament and just wanted to know, whether my thinking was okay or not. Here the hand: And here my thoughts: - I'm in the big blind, so I check to see the flop. I did not consider A9 to be good enough for a pre-flop raise - I hit the flop with my 9 and thus have a medium pair with best kicker, but also the 9 is the highest card on the board, thus the only danger I see for the moment is a villain's pocket pair matching one of the cards giving him a set. I don't think anybody has a high pocket pair, because everybody limped. Therefore I call the raise of my pre-bettor, the one after me folds. - The turn brings a T, which doesn't help me, but could give the villain a straight, except his betting didn't seem to fit that. So now I am thinking he has actually not improved and just c-bets to keep up the pressure. I'll respond with all-in since I was pot commited anyways and there still was a chance to get a second Ace on the board. However, the villain does not fold, but calls. - The river shows a 4, not doing anything and he has two pairs 88 and TT, which beat my 99. Where is the mistake in my thinking, or was it played okay and it just turned out bad? I appreciate the help.
    Last edited by Seth Gulch; Wed May 11, 2011, 10:26 PM.

  • #2
    Hey Seth, welcome to the pso and the forum. umbup: Not a terrible play here..I would think the same on the smallish bet on the turn, but I don't have a history of the player. So did you have any read on the player? The only thing I don't like about our replayer is that it doesn't show the info of the game you're in. I understand it's pso..but how many until the bubble, or are ya' passed it? Where are you in relation to the bubble passing if it hasn't yet...ex., you're 225 of 350 left w/ the bubble at 81? Without that info, it's a little tougher to make an analysis. But, if you're not InTheMoney...I could see doing a couple things different. First, may sound uber tight, but if you haven't made the bubble and it's arriving close, I would probably let it go on the flop. Points for ITM are just too valuable. Second, if you realize calling on the flop is going to make you pot committed, and you're relatively sure he didn't have an overpair, then you could just shove on the flop. Doesn't mean he'll fold, but it's a better line to take imo, because he just may. Just my .02 ...we have many great analyzers here who will be giving their opinion. Mainly just wanted to say welcome and let us know if you have any questions on the league. Best o' luck! Dan
    Last edited by !!!111Dan; Wed May 11, 2011, 10:50 PM. Reason: extra info required

    Comment


    • #3
      WITH THE SIZE OF BLINDS YOU ARE NOT IN THE MONEY
      DEPENDING ON HOW THE GUY HAS BEEN PLAYING I THINK IT'S A SHOVE OR FOLD
      WITH NO INFO. IT'S A FOLD ALL YOU LOST IS YOUR BLIND

      GOOD LUCK

      sometimes i laugh so hard tears run down my leg

      Comment


      • #4
        Personally, I'm shoving pre. Charge those punks for limping your BB with the blinds this high. If you take down the pot you add about 37% to your stack. If you're called you're rarely a huge underdog. (AT+ you're about 25/75, 99-KK you're about 30/70, AA you're dead meat, but against anything else you're a coinflip or better.)

        As played either get it in or fold on the flop. Calling is terrible with your stack. And your stack is perfect to ship it. However with two players still to act, including a UTG limper, you may choose to just fold, having lost zero extra chips this hand. You can't call as it commits you for the rest of the hand with no fold equity and you have to win a showdown, whereas if you fold or shove you can still do some damage.

        The 10 would only give villain a straight if he has 67, J7, or QJ. That's not really what you need to worry about. People like limping with suited and connected cards. With 8, 9, 10 on the board, there are a lot of very common 2-pair possibilities, as well as pairs with a straight draw. Assuming he wasn't stone-bluffing the flop into 3 players, he probably hit the flop in some way, either with a pair or better or with a straight draw, or a combination. Think of all the hands he might limp in with preflop that have good equity here. (87, 89, T9, J9, J8, JT, etc. as well as possible sets)

        I would ship pre. If I checked pre I would ship flop.
        4 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          they also can be limping with any 2 overcards to the 9... and with low cards on the flop, they might try to be a fish trying to draw a higher card for a pair too.
          Super-Moderator



          6 Time Bracelet Winner


          Comment


          • #6
            I don't like the call on the flop. This is a insta shove or fold and being a pso tourney I'm leaning
            towards fold. Your goal in a pso tourney is to ITM or close to it.
            There is a flush draw and a straight draw on the board and you most likely won't scare anyone
            away with a shove because players love to chase.
            How players out there do you think would be able to fold 10 J or K x of hearts on that board if
            you shoved?
            Save your chips for a better spot .
            7 Time Bracelet Winner


            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by shirshot View Post
              I don't like the call on the flop. This is a insta shove or fold and being a pso tourney I'm leaning
              towards fold. Your goal in a pso tourney is to ITM or close to it.
              There is a flush draw and a straight draw on the board and you most likely won't scare anyone
              away with a shove because players love to chase.
              How players out there do you think would be able to fold 10 J or K x of hearts on that board if
              you shoved?
              Save your chips for a better spot .
              YEP IT'S JUST THE WRONG TIME

              sometimes i laugh so hard tears run down my leg

              Comment


              • #8
                I'm with the others, your stack size is perfect to shove pre over the limpers, AND you very likely have the best hand to boot. Preflop I think shove > check.

                On the flop, again you are very likely to have the best hand as you reasoned but the board is wet (draw heavy) and there are a lot of overcards that can come, so I think you should shove right there over the flop bet.
                Head Live Trainer
                Check out my Videos

                4 Time Bracelet Winner



                Comment


                • #9
                  Thanks for your comments and feedback

                  First of all thanks for your comments and the warm welcome.

                  @!!!111Dan: Good point about the missing info, I'll make sure I add them in future posts. For this particular play I ended up being 200th ot of 566, so as "hemetdennis" already guessed correctly I was not in the money (ITM = 54th)

                  @TheLangoier: Special Thanks for all the Live Videos, even though I normally cannot participate live, I have watched already some of them and intend to watch the others as well, because they are very helpful.

                  Looking forward to play many more hands and to get some of them analyzed here in the forum.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    reply In My Opinion, I think the play should have been done on the flop, where you still had best hand. he has to hit runner runner for a straight on the flop, on the turn, there was a possibilty of the straight on the turn, and unfortunately for you, it's where he made 2 pair, and you went all in. There's times when you're going to get outhit as each card comes down. Bet big when you hit big, after that, be weary, check all the cards on board, every street, making sure of no straight possibilities, or flush possibilities. There's donks out there, don't let em catch... umbup:

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X

                    X Cookies Information

                    We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.