PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First big pot after moving up to 0.1/0.25 NLHE

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • First big pot after moving up to 0.1/0.25 NLHE

    Hi all,

    Would appreciate commentary either criticism or affirmation on the following hand.

    The situation:

    Hero has just moved up to 0.1/0.25 for the first time and after about 1-2 orbits gets involved in the following situation.

    Effectively no information on other people in the hand as too few hands seen yet.

    Preflop: Hero is SB with A of diamonds Q of hearts
    7 folds, Hero raises to $0.75, BB raises to $2.50, Hero calls $1.75

    with everyone folding thinking this is a fine hand to go one on one against the BB and might steal his BB, actually I was preferring he call. Instead he comes over the top, figure this is likely to test me so I call it. At this point thinking he could have any pair or possibly any Ace-x

    Flop: ($5) 4 of hearts 3 of hearts 2 of hearts (2 players)
    Hero bets $2.37, BB raises to $8.73, Hero raises to $17.25 and is all-in, BB calls $8.52

    For some reason I quite like this flop, I have 2 over cards, plus draws at the wheel and 3rd flush.

    TBH I didn't have a clear picture about what he was holding though I had a sense it wasn't a flush.

    After his 4x raise I decide to continue with the semi bluff and go all in considering my play to that point was consistent with either a flush or a big over pair. I'm hoping he'll fold at that point but have a number of outs should he call. Alas he does.

    Results will be posted later

  • #2
    If you're gonna donk the flop at least make it a big enough bet where you might get a fold. I'd tend toward a pot size bet for a semibluff, but look at your stack size--it's really bad for that. You have a bit over 3x the pot. If you pot it, the logical raise basically puts you all in. You'd rather not call an all in with currently nothing. Check to the raiser and let him continue his aggression. He should bet (probably around $5). 3 low cards all of one suit. When he bets I would tend toward raising all in as long as he has the ability to fold. Even if he calls you're usually not in bad shape. Say he has an overpair like JJ, you are actually a 60/40 favorite! Against KK you're slightly better than a coinflip. Even against a set you're only a 2 to 1 dog. The worst case is he has AA with the ace of hearts, and you're drawing to running Qs (or a 5 to chop). You have the right idea moving all in here, but you should have just done it with a check-raise, that way he'd have to call about $12 to win ~$27 (about 2 to 1) instead of $8.50 to win ~$31 (nearly 4 to 1). As long as he has outs he's calling.
    4 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks Ori,

      point well taken

      So the result:

      Turn: ($39.50) 8 of clubs (2 players, 1 is all-in)
      River: ($39.50) 5 of hearts (2 players, 1 is all-in)

      In fact he was holding JJ and I nearly doubled my stack.

      The wash up was though I had a nagging suspicion I had misplayed it or been too reckless and it added an element of doubt to my play, so I let a few more orbits go round then left the table before I made a more costly mistake.

      On checking odds calcs afterwards I discovered as you say I was 60:40 ish favourite at the flop which made me feel a little better but you're right playing your way would have had a more significant effect and given the bluff a better chance to work.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by OMGCBF View Post
        On checking odds calcs afterwards I discovered as you say I was 60:40 ish favourite at the flop which made me feel a little better
        Don't make this mistake in your analysis.... at the decision point you don't know that you have such a strong draw of 2 overs + a live flush draw. What if he has AA with the Ah for example? At the decision point you have to assign the villain a reasonable range of hands and check your equity vs. that range.
        Head Live Trainer
        Check out my Videos

        4 Time Bracelet Winner



        Comment

        Working...
        X

        X Cookies Information

        We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.