PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Blind vs. blind on the bubble of a freeroll satellite

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Blind vs. blind on the bubble of a freeroll satellite

    Freeroll satellite. 6 left, 5 get ticket. Smallest stack with about 3 BBs folded UTG+1, SB is second smallest stack, and I have SB covered by about 1 BB. I think I had 7 BBs. There are antes, and blinds are 500 / 1000.

    Everyone folds to SB who limps. I have two cards. SB is not a nit, and while he should be folding most of the time will probably be calling my shove with at least top 10%, even top 15%.

    Should I shove? Or check and let the SB get a bigger stack than me. The way the table is set up:

    big stack (2nd) FOLDS
    smallest stack (6th) FOLDS
    big stack (1st) FOLDS
    medium stack (3rd) FOLDS
    small stack (5th) LIMPS
    me (4th) ????

    With this set-up I only get 1 hand per orbit max where I'm not shoving into a big stack. If I check here and fold, and the small stack gets a walk on his BB I'm screwed. I know if the SB is a nit or understands ICM and bubble factors, a shove here should work (of course if he understood ICM and bubble factors he wouldn't limp here, just shove and make me fold near 100%), but what if he's calling a lot of hands?
    4 Time Bracelet Winner



  • #2
    I would just check most my hands. If he bets the flop and we've missed, I'd pass, if he checks I will probably make a bet around half the pot unless I hit decent showdown value, in which case I'm likely to just check it down with him.
    Head Live Trainer
    Check out my Videos

    4 Time Bracelet Winner



    Comment


    • #3
      Different story I think if playing to win, but in a satellite this would generally be my line in this spot.
      Head Live Trainer
      Check out my Videos

      4 Time Bracelet Winner



      Comment


      • #4
        I agree with Dave on it. I'd check. The goal is only to be in the top 5, not necessarily win. If you hit the flop, or they check the flop, then I bet. If I miss the flop, I'd pass.

        You still have chips an only need 1 more to be ko'd to win.
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment

        Working...
        X

        X Cookies Information

        We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.