PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Analysis please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Analysis please

    Sorry, this hand was deleted by its owner
    'Cause I have done it before and I can do it some more I got my eye on the score'

  • #2
    A second of possible...
    Sorry, this hand was deleted by its owner
    'Cause I have done it before and I can do it some more I got my eye on the score'

    Comment


    • #3
      with the stack sizes, I'm assuming this is very, very early in a tournament.

      When your pot-sized bet gets called on the flop, while having a monster draw (1 out to a royal and 8 more to flush), you need to figure that you are behind and that your opponent has paired something on the board. No problems with that bet, as it allows you to see where you are in the pot.... 9 outs to flush, but more than likely, you're behind a pair.

      With them checking after you missed the turn, especially this early, you really should have checked and saw the river for free. Early in a tourney, you only want to put chips into the pot if you don't have to... when you are ahead (and with the flop call, they will almost always have a pair).

      When the river misses, you have two options. Check, as you did.. which IMO is the correct play early in a tourney. Or fire another bullet at it (but if they have an A like they did.... you'll get called and lose).

      The most surprising play was actually from your opponent, as they should have value bet the river with top pair.
      Last edited by JWK24; Mon Apr 11, 2011, 08:24 PM. Reason: for 1st hand
      Super-Moderator



      6 Time Bracelet Winner


      Comment


      • #4
        2nd hand.

        There are 5 people in seeing the flop and you hit bottom pair on a board with a flush draw. You still have over 6BB in chips left and if you push and get called, you are going to get called by the flush draw (which hits on the turn), an over-pair, or an open-ended straight.
        With that many in, even if you hit the gutshot straight, it's probably going to lose to a higher straight and if a club comes, even if you hit trip 5's, you'll lose.

        I'd have folded and gotten my chips into a better spot.
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          Cheers, JWK
          'Cause I have done it before and I can do it some more I got my eye on the score'

          Comment

          Working...
          X

          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.