PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Was I wrong to throw this hand away?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Was I wrong to throw this hand away?

    I faced the following hand late in the PSO tourney and I mucked it pre-flop but as I was facing the all-in bet from the UTG player. I had just been moved to the table and had only seen a handful of hands played when this hand came down. As it played out to the showdown neither player in it had their hands improved while mine would have crushed both hands.

    PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, 0 Tournament, 200/400 Blinds 50 Ante (9 handed) - PokerStars Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com



    saw flop

    UTG (t1647)
    UTG+1 (t5401)
    MP1 (t640)
    MP2 (t2730)
    MP3 (t5170)
    CO (t3135)
    Button (t18259)
    Hero (SB) (t9265)
    BB (t4990)

    Hero's M: 8.82

    Preflop: Hero is SB with 4, 7
    UTG bets t1597 (All-In), 7 folds, BB calls t1197

    Flop: (t3844) 7, 3, Q (2 players, 1 all-in)

    Turn: (t3844) 5 (2 players, 1 all-in)

    River: (t3844) 10 (2 players, 1 all-in)

    Total pot: t3844

  • #2
    Considering you were new to the table and UTG went all in, with that hand I feel it's reasonable to throw it away.

    As if they had a high pair, odds aren't great for relying on flush or straight to see you through, pre-flop as that is an average hand. (despite the post flop events, and flush turning up on river)

    After seeing the flop you'd obviously have wanted to kick yourself, but, that happens an awful lot really in this game. Seeing as it's not that far into the event, and you already have an alright amount of chips you can afford to play a little slow.

    Comment


    • #3
      Don't be results oriented.
      Head Live Trainer
      Check out my Videos

      4 Time Bracelet Winner



      Comment


      • #4
        In this particular case the UTG player had a unsuited connectors that never connected with the board and ended up playing high card and losing to medium pocket pair that called from BB that still didn't connect with the board to improve. The button was the only chip stack I was legitimately worried about busting me out and contemplated calling or pushing when he folded.

        Comment


        • #5
          There is a point when you can call all-in shoves with any two cards. Like, for example, when the guy who shoved has 4BB left, and you have 127BB. A lot of people would call that acceptable. This situation is similar because the villain does have 4BB, and you do have any two cards. But there's enough risk to you to make a call with a bad hand questionable.

          Comment

          Working...
          X

          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.