PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

QQ vs an all-in re raise

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • QQ vs an all-in re raise

    Early in a real $$$$ tourney. Blinds are small and everyone has about the same amount of chips.

    You are in mid/late position, dealt QQ. Three limpers and you make a pot size raise. Everyone behind you folds, the first two limpers fold, the last limper re-raises you all-in.

    IMO - with two limpers in front of him/her, the reraiser isn't going to limp preflop with AA or KK , I put him/her on AK or medium pp and trying to buy the pot.

    How would you play this?

    Thanks for your comments.

    James G

  • #2
    How much do you have left if you fold? How small are the blinds?

    The problem is that I've seen many players limp with AA and KK with several limpers already in the pot. Twice last week I saw people limp with AA, one from the button and one from the cut-off with one limper already in. They're thinking that AA is unbeatable and they want to double through. It often ends badly when the BB or SB hits two pair or the limper hits a set and the AA player is gone.

    If this is online real money, I would probably go all-in. My experience tells me that those players often play AK, AQ, AJ exactly how you just described.

    If this is in a B&M casino, I'd be looking for a reason to fold, especially if you still have lots of money left.

    Peace, Starrs LSOGC

    Comment


    • #3
      Starting chips T1500. Blinds are 25/50, three 3 limpers and my raise, He makes it 1200 to go, pot is T1750

      I have T1200 left, if I fold, then I have more than enough to wait for a better opportunity. I have been playing very solid recently, and felt the correct move was to give it to him and wait.

      Unfortunately I don't always take my own advice and called, he showed AK suited. The flop and turn were rags,… K hits the river and I am back in Poker School.

      This tournament really doesn't start until after the first break and the antes begin. Usually by this time, several lucky players have stacks of 3000-10,000. Most of these players are not very good and can be relied upon to give you action and risk chips. This is the best time to accumulate chips IMO.

      Say, that this hand came up in the 2nd hour, same situation..

      Playing very tight and have T1000, this time I am raising all-in. Action folds to him (he most certainly is going to call). I win/lose relatively the same size pot, but at least I was the aggressor.

      What do you think?

      James G.

      The James Gang

      PS Please point out any mistakes in my math. There are mistakes, there always are mistakes.... Doh!!!

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: QQ vs an all-in re raise

        Originally posted by James G
        Early in a real $$$$ tourney. Blinds are small and everyone has about the same amount of chips.

        You are in mid/late position, dealt QQ. Three limpers and you make a pot size raise. Everyone behind you folds, the first two limpers fold, the last limper re-raises you all-in.

        IMO - with two limpers in front of him/her, the reraiser isn't going to limp preflop with AA or KK , I put him/her on AK or medium pp and trying to buy the pot.

        James G
        Well, they failed to raise after 2 limpers. Did they pick up a tell that you were about to raise? That might depend on the value of the game and how astute they are...

        If it's a typical low buyin, shallow stack/blind structure I'd say all-in is fine here. You're probably up against AK at worst, or JJ/TT etc at best, who's trying to knock off your imagined AK/AQ.

        ooooo I just agreed with your analysis. Definitely call then

        Go for it.

        Comment


        • #5
          I would've laid down my QQ if you still had 1200 left to play with at the 25/50 blind limit. Good read though on the AK. I might have limped with the QQ myself if I felt I couldnt get one of those limpers out, let's say, if they were holding something like an A-rag suited or some rag king hand. On a small flop, you hand is disguised and you may get good action from somebody who thinks they have the top pair later...

          j.a.m.

          Comment


          • #6
            Rosita,

            I didn't mention that this was an online tourney. Oops...

            In real life, I would not have even looked at my cards until the action got to me.

            But I'd love to be able to video tape myself playing and see how much info I give away and when.

            James G

            The James Gang

            Comment


            • #7
              m2c

              Coin flip: a little ahead or a little behind.

              You pays your money and makes a choice. Correct choice 'a little ahead.' He caught up though :

              Comment


              • #8
                No question you get it all-in against an unknown player in that particular situation. He could just be moving in because he can't just call. He could easily be a maniac trying to bluff. Much more likely than AA or KK, though that is possible against some players, but rare. I have seen too many players do this with underpairs or just 1 overcard to QQ, to make folding QQ usually a mistake. It doesn't matter who the aggressor is when you are just as likely, if not more, to be a big favourite as you are a big dog.

                Comment


                • #9
                  I've seen a lot of players who will limp in with AA or KK in that situation, ready to trap the 1st person who does make a raise. Middle or late stage of the tournament, I might call the "all in" here, depending on what kind of read I have on the opponent. Early in a tournament, WITH AN UNKOWN OPPONENT? No question about it. I lay it down! I'm not going to risk busting out in the 1st few rounds. I'm going to survive until I have a REAL powerhouse hand, which QQ is not. PLEASE keep in mind that I'm NOT saying this is what YOU should've done, or should do next time. This is how I would have played the hand.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    James, play in front of a mirror when you play online. It has helped me.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Apryl said

                      James, play in front of a mirror when you play online. It has helped me.
                      You know I never would have thought of that.... interesting idea. Although I am sure you are far easier to look at for a few hours str8 than I am.

                      Thanks for the suggestion!

                      JG

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X