PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.


No announcement yet.

Win more chips than you bet???

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Win more chips than you bet???

    Hi every Body, Im new to poker stars and still pretty new at poker so i got some question. Last night I was playing at home with 2 other friends . we were playing a 1/2 small/big blind and when the third guy went out we made the blinds bigger 2/4 small/big blind . near the end of the heads up stand off , my opponent stack was so low when he couldn't afford big blind and only had 3 chips not 4. So here are my questions. 1 for me being small blind with 2 chips in do i call and only put 1 chip or do i make to 4 chips like how its supposed to be . And 2 (i did put 4 chips to call the blind) if he won would he get my 4 chips or only 3 chips from me ???? can he win my 4 with his all in with only 3 chips ???

  • #2
    Hi there,

    To answer your questions in this situation where he cannot afford the full blind amount and you are the only opponent you only need to call his 3 chips rather than the 4 if however there was another player you would need to call with 4 chips, then if the remaining opponent folded you would get 1chip back and the all-in would have the chance to win just the 3 chips. He can only win a maximum of 3 chips as this is all he can contribute to the pot


    • #3
      Hi squibyboom, Welcome to PokerSchoolOnline! Here is a link to help familiarize you with all the features and services available at PSO. Feel free to look around the forum and post any of your comments or questions. You are invited to join the PokerSchoolOnline Community Home Games Club, and information on how to join the club may be found HERE. This month the PSO home games club will be hosting the PSO Madness. Hope to see you there! umbup: Joss
      2 Time Bracelet Winner


      • #4
        If your opponent only has 3 chips and the blinds are 2/4, as the small blind, you only have to put in 3 chips. Like archi-grove said, if there were other players still to act, you would have to put in 4 chips to call and if everyone else folded, you would get one chip back and your opponent could only win 3 chips from you if he won the hand.

        If there were 2 other people in the hand, the short-stack would only be entitled to win 3 chips from each of you and the extra chip that the two other players have put in would go into a "side pot". This side pot can only be won by the two bigger stacks and betting can still take place after the flop as normal to fight for this side pot.


        • #5
          Thank you!!!

          Thank you every one ! now i know .



          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.