PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Live - penalty not betting or checking back the nuts?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Live - penalty not betting or checking back the nuts?

    Hi, I was listening to a commentary on a live game where a penalty was give to a player who maybe:

    "Got a penalty for not betting or checking back the nuts?"

    Have I got this wrong or misunderstand what was said?

    The reasoning is confusing, whatever the actual rule is, if playing the same hand on-line and no penalty is given?

    I played an on-line hand and turn two pair. My opponent in the small blind backs into the nuts, runner runner nut flush, is oop checks to me and I bet and snap calls.

    I guess this is ok, I'd give them a nit station penalty. But live is there a rule about betting the nuts?
    Last edited by ForrestFive; Wed Feb 26, 2014, 08:04 AM. Reason: runner runner nut flush

  • #2
    Hi Forrest!

    When playing live, if you are last to act and have the nuts, it IS a penalty to check, as this is soft-play.

    John (JWK24)
    Super-Moderator



    6 Time Bracelet Winner


    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks John, In my example, because I was in position and last to act, I could check behind and not bet my 2 pair. Because the station just calls 2 streets, backs into the nuts and can't value lead as no worse hand calls. So live, if I got there. Say I river a boat? The 3rd bet: flop, turn and river is mandatory? Wow - Actually it's making more sense as I'm typing this reply. Because I'm not last to act. If the sb made a nut straight flush > my boat. Then doesn't bet, this is a soft-play and gets a penalty. umbup:
      Last edited by ForrestFive; Wed Feb 26, 2014, 11:00 AM. Reason: makes sense

      Comment


      • #4
        You only have to bet on the river and only if you have the absolute nuts and are the last player to act. If you're out of position, you can do whatever you want.

        John (JWK24)
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by ForrestFive View Post
          Thanks John, In my example, because I was in position and last to act, I could check behind and not bet my 2 pair. Because the station just calls 2 streets, backs into the nuts and can't value lead as no worse hand calls. So live, if I got there. Say I river a boat? The 3rd bet: flop, turn and river is mandatory? Wow - Actually it's making more sense as I'm typing this reply. Because I'm not last to act. If the sb made a nut straight flush > my boat. Then doesn't bet, this is a soft-play and gets a penalty. umbup:
          Hey Forrest, Soft play in this instance is any time you are not betting when the reason is to give your friend/spouse/brother/whoever a break. The tricky part is you can't really prove it, unless they say that's what they're doing (in which case like 9 times out of 10 they have no idea it's not cool), or they have no legitimate poker reason to not bet. The only time they can have no legitimate poker reason to not bet, is with the nuts, last to act, on the river. On the flop or turn, they could be slow playing. On the river out of position, they could be going for a check-raise. In those cases they are not betting where it could be with the intent of getting action later... where as on the river, last to act, there is no later, if they check there is no more betting.
          Head Live Trainer
          Check out my Videos

          4 Time Bracelet Winner



          Comment

          Working...
          X

          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.