PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

why doesn't this count as s split pot?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • why doesn't this count as s split pot?

    PokerStars Hand #96565646487: Tournament #710204289, Freeroll Hold'em No Limit - Level XXIV (6000/12000) - 2013/04/02 23:09:56 WET [2013/04/02 18:09:56 ET]
    Table '710204289 81' 9-max Seat #6 is the button
    Seat 1: sega 16 biit (294834 in chips)
    Seat 2: DexterretxeD (247080 in chips)
    Seat 3: clayson28 (294829 in chips)
    Seat 4: ferny1991 (278877 in chips)
    Seat 5: havocofsmeg (80238 in chips)
    Seat 6: qwertysgmail (65270 in chips)
    Seat 8: kym.i17 (238872 in chips)
    sega 16 biit: posts the ante 1200
    DexterretxeD: posts the ante 1200
    clayson28: posts the ante 1200
    ferny1991: posts the ante 1200
    havocofsmeg: posts the ante 1200
    qwertysgmail: posts the ante 1200
    kym.i17: posts the ante 1200
    kym.i17: posts small blind 6000
    sega 16 biit: posts big blind 12000
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to havocofsmeg [Th Ts]
    DexterretxeD: folds
    clayson28: folds
    ferny1991: raises 265677 to 277677 and is all-in
    havocofsmeg: calls 79038 and is all-in
    qwertysgmail: folds
    kym.i17: folds
    sega 16 biit: folds
    Uncalled bet (198639) returned to ferny1991
    *** FLOP *** [Td 4h Ah]
    *** TURN *** [Td 4h Ah] [2h]
    *** RIVER *** [Td 4h Ah 2h] [Jh]
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    ferny1991: shows [Qc Kh] (a flush, Ace high)
    havocofsmeg: shows [Th Ts] (a flush, Ace high - lower cards)
    ferny1991 collected 184476 from pot
    havocofsmeg finished the tournament in 7th place and received $1.37.
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 184476 | Rake 0
    Board [Td 4h Ah 2h Jh]
    Seat 1: sega 16 biit (big blind) folded before Flop
    Seat 2: DexterretxeD folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 3: clayson28 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 4: ferny1991 showed [Qc Kh] and won (184476) with a flush, Ace high
    Seat 5: havocofsmeg showed [Th Ts] and lost with a flush, Ace high
    Seat 6: qwertysgmail (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 8: kym.i17 (small blind) folded before Flop


    When all is said and done, we both have an ace high flush. I do realise that he does have the higher heart in his hole, but he has an ace high flush and I have an ace high flush.

    Stone vs. stone = stalemate. So why should he take it.
    'Cause I have done it before and I can do it some more I got my eye on the score'

  • #2
    Your final 5-card hand is Ah Jh Th 4h 2h
    Villain's 5-card hand is Ah Kh Jh 4h 2h

    An AKJxx flush beats an AJTxx flush.

    Being over-flushed is uncommon in heads up pots, but they certainly happen. I've occasionally had a hand like 76s flop a flush that has lost to an Ace-high flush that took the pot when a fourth card of my suit hits the board. This is why it's often dangerous to play low duited connectors like 43s. They never make nut flushes.

    Btw, it's impossible to have a split pot when you both make flushes unless all 5 board cards are of the same suit, and neither you or villain can beat the board.
    Last edited by ArtySmokesPS; Wed Apr 03, 2013, 02:13 AM.
    Bracelet Winner

    Comment

    Working...
    X

    X Cookies Information

    We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.