PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about the Chris Moneymaker Session Review Video

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Question about the Chris Moneymaker Session Review Video

    I was just watching the Chris Moneymaker Session Review Part 2 video for the second time and wanted to ask about something I saw.

    The video starts off with Chris down on chips and then by 14:38 he has his opponent down to 810 chips vs Chris' stack of 13,950. The blinds have come up to 40/80 and his opponent is steadily being ground down.

    Then Chris decides to push all in with an A 4os and his opponent calls with J T suited, he hits a T on the flop and a J on the river and doubles his stack.

    In this situation why was it a good idea for Chris to push his opponent like that on just an A with such a low kicker, and was his bet size correct?

    In the hands leading up to this Chris had played very aggressive and was close to winning, this play seemed like a rush to finish to me rather than a worthwhile push, and I would have thought that he could have hurt his opponent just as much with a smaller bet of maybe 1/3 or 1/2 his opponents stack if the play had worked.

  • #2
    With the stacksizes as they are I would probably do the same thing. The opponent has 10 BB left, and A rag is ahead of any two cards he may have. So I see four scenarios:
    1. opponent folds. Yay Chris
    2. opponent calls with an Ax - Chris is dominated, better luck next time
    3. opponent calls with a pair - Chris won't be that much of a dog and can still catch his A
    4. opponent calls with something else - Chris will be the favorite with his A high

    Seems like a profitable play to me to force the oppponent into making the allin decision. After all, calling allin with a JT off is a lot harder then shoving the same hand.

    Return question: did the opponent make the right move by callin with the JT. Chances Chris had something that JT can actually beat are rather slim I think.
    The Road to Fame and Fortune - Keeping track of my poker semi-career
    Keep up to date: @Ov3rsight


    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks for the reply, I guess it was just an unlucky beat for Chris. I have seen people say a few times that when your opponent is short stacked your chips are worth more to them than theirs are to you. I guess thats one of the reasons I was a bit surprised at the move, though looking at it the way you explained where his A beats any 2 unpaired cards makes the shove seem more justified.

      In answer to your question I think I would have probably called with the JT os in that situation, as the opponent is short stacked and being ground down by the blinds, without knowing his previous hands I am going to guess he didn't have much that he dared shove with.

      In this situation I would probably wait till something vaguely playable came along and take my chances, I'm either out which is going to happen anyway after a few more blinds or I double up and have a chance. Added to that Chris has been playing aggressively I would assume that he has opened up his range and is playing a lot of hands so the chances of this being a bluff or a weaker hand are raised.

      Comment

      Working...
      X

      X Cookies Information

      We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.