PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can someone explain this?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Can someone explain this?

    Can someone help me with the rules of Omaha. The hand listed below occured in the Drunk tank last night. I was holding an Ace/Jack and after the flop I had Jacks and Fours. When the third four hit, I thought I had a full house, but I didn't win with a full house. Obviously I'm missing something from the rule book.

    PokerStars Home Game #72462567163: {Drunk Tank} Tournament #483041760, 500+125+30 HORSE (Omaha Hi/Lo Limit) - Level XII (750/1500) - 2011/12/19
    Table '483041760 2' 8-max Seat #8 is the button
    Seat 2: Nobisquit (18116 in chips)
    Seat 3: Phoenix Maya (1765 in chips)
    Seat 4: effsea (9998 in chips)
    Seat 6: JWK24 (7478 in chips)
    Seat 8: Johnny Oak (7643 in chips)
    Nobisquit: posts small blind 375
    Phoenix Maya: posts big blind 750
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to Johnny Oak [5h Jh As 2c]
    effsea: folds
    JWK24: calls 750
    Johnny Oak: calls 750
    Nobisquit: calls 375
    Phoenix Maya: raises 750 to 1500
    JWK24: calls 750
    Johnny Oak: calls 750
    Nobisquit: calls 750
    *** FLOP *** [Jc 4d 4s]
    Nobisquit: bets 750
    Phoenix Maya: calls 265 and is all-in
    JWK24: folds
    Johnny Oak: calls 750
    *** TURN *** [Jc 4d 4s] [7c]
    Nobisquit: bets 1500
    Johnny Oak: calls 1500
    *** RIVER *** [Jc 4d 4s 7c] [4c]
    Nobisquit: bets 1500
    Johnny Oak: calls 1500
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    Nobisquit: shows [3c 2d 6s 7d] (HI: three of a kind, Fours)
    Johnny Oak: shows [5h Jh As 2c] (HI: three of a kind, Fours - Ace kicker)
    Johnny Oak collected 6970 from side pot
    Phoenix Maya: mucks hand
    Johnny Oak collected 6795 from main pot
    No low hand qualified
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 13765 Main pot 6795. Side pot 6970. | Rake 0
    Board [Jc 4d 4s 7c 4c]
    Seat 2: Nobisquit (small blind) showed [3c 2d 6s 7d] and lost with HI: three of a kind, Fours
    Seat 3: Phoenix Maya (big blind) mucked [9c 8s 7h 2s]
    Seat 4: effsea folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 6: JWK24 folded on the Flop
    Seat 8: Johnny Oak (button) showed [5h Jh As 2c] and won (13765) with HI: three of a kind, Fours

    I won the hand, but I don't know why. Made me feel like a Donk.

  • #2
    You have to use 2 and only 2 of your hole cards JO in Omaha.
    You won the hand with a higher kicker.

    edit...just one more note, if you're playing Hi/Lo, then you can use any combination of 2 cards to make your Hi and Lo hand, they don't have to be the same 2.
    Last edited by !!!111Dan; Tue Dec 20, 2011, 07:29 PM.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by !!!111Dan View Post
      You have to use 2 and only 2 of your hole cards JO in Omaha.
      You won the hand with a higher kicker.
      OK now I get it. If you must use two of your hole cards, it means you can only use three of the board cards. Man I don't play Omaha very often, but obviously I was doing it all wrong. I was playing it like Hold'em rules.

      Funny in the hand above I called because I thought I had a full house. If I had known what I really had I might have folded.
      Last edited by Johnny Oak; Tue Dec 20, 2011, 07:38 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        In any omaha game, you must use 2 from your hold cards and 3 from the board, no more, no less.
        You do NOT have to use the same 2 hold cards and 3 board cards for high AND low... you can use any combination for it, as long as it is 2 from your hand and 3 from the board.

        Also, for low, it must be 8 high or worse... or there is no low (same for stud h/l... it's gotta be 8 high or worse for low).
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by JWK24 View Post
          In any omaha game, you must use 2 from your hold cards and 3 from the board, no more, no less.
          OK so the few hands I did win were from pure dumb luck, 'cause I did not know this. See you can teach an old dog new tricks.

          Comment


          • #6
            i find Omaha is good for Holdem training, as it is a range finder. what is the ranges people play!
            with H/L u can play both sides, A-5 , 10-A, in st, and as JD said in past post, A-5 can not lose but it can lose u money if u bet out side range, 2+ people
            Last edited by 0HighTimes0; Thu Dec 22, 2011, 03:01 AM.
            3 Time Bracelet Winner


            Comment

            Working...
            X

            X Cookies Information

            We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.