PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2 questions about MTT

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2 questions about MTT

    Hey all,

    I have two quick questions, first, does anyone have any suggestions for books on MTT strategy? I used to play them often on PS and a couple of live ones and did alright, but haven't been able to play them in a long time and I'm looking for a book on advanced tips/strategy since I'm making a trip to Vegas and would like to play a couple while I'm out there

    And second, I was watching a replay of one of the recent WSOP Main Events and someone got penalized for not betting his nut flush at the end. They said that because he was the last to bet he was supposed to bet, even if he didn't think the other person wouldn't call. Is this the case for any tournament or just at the WSOP? I had never heard of that up until now

    Thanks!

  • #2
    Q1: The best books out imo (not for beginners really, but sounds like you're not) are Winning Poker Tournaments One Hand at a Time Volumes 1 & 2 by Eric Lynch, Jon Van Fleet, and Jon Turner.

    Q2: Yes, that could likely draw you a penalty from any TD. This is the case for any tournament, it always has been, you just never see it happen (almost never obv lol). Think about it, why would you not bet the stone cold nuts on the river? Out of position you might check hoping your opponent will bet, but if you are last to act the only reasons one might not bet the nuts when checked to are they misread their hand, or they are softplaying their opponent... and softplay is against the rules and thus warrants a penalty.

    Hope this helps, GL in Vegas!
    Head Live Trainer
    Check out my Videos

    4 Time Bracelet Winner



    Comment


    • #3
      kill phil, and kill everyone cant remember the author

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by TheLangolier View Post
        Q2: Yes, that could likely draw you a penalty from any TD. This is the case for any tournament, it always has been, you just never see it happen (almost never obv lol). Think about it, why would you not bet the stone cold nuts on the river?

        I did this a couple of years ago. You could have heard a pin drop. Fortunately I didn't receive a penalty, but the embarrassment was punishment enough.

        So although you didn't ask the question, a third tip for you. Learn to say no to the free drinks

        Comment


        • #5
          Hey, thanks for the book suggestions! I'll try and get a copy of each of those soon.
          And thanks for the good luck wishes Langolier. Hopefully this trip goes as well as my first one did. I played in 2 MTTs last time, first one I played very well but got a bit too confident as I approached the final table and made a couple of bad plays which led to me busting out. 2nd one I ended up finishing 2nd out of a field of 45, and I lost the land hand on the river, lol, although to be honest I felt like I had a bit of luck on my side that tournament.

          As for saying no to free drinks Darkman, I usually have one at the beginning because it helps me calm down a bit because I am naturally a very nervous person so a bit of alcohol calms me down. I make sure I only have 1 or 2 drinks depending on how long I am at the table, I do know my limit, lol

          Comment

          Working...
          X

          X Cookies Information

          We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.